eNASCAR College iRacing Series Race Preview: Talladega

The eNASCAR College iRacing Series Powered by NACE Starleague returns for the seventh race on the 2023-24 academic calendar at Talladega Superspeedway. The third race of the 2024 Spring Semester section of the schedule, Talladega will host top collegiate iRacers for 60 laps around the 2.66-mile racetrack in Alabama. once again utilizing the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series vehicles. The race will stream live on Tuesday night at 8PM ET on eNASCAR.com/live and across iRacing social media channels. 

About the Series: The eNASCAR College iRacing Series gives college students from the United States and Canada the opportunity to compete for their share of $60,000 in scholarships. Using machines from the NASCAR Xfinity Series or NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series, 40 drivers qualify for the event by registering here and posting their fastest lap times in a two-week Time Attack through the iRacing UI. With hundreds of colleges and universities represented in each Time Attack and only one representative per school, drivers are competing not only against the greater iRacing community, but also their own classmates, for a spot on the prestigious grid.

Last Race: Matthew Zwack entered Darlington with about a 10th place machine, but utilizing strategy combined with a perfectly-placed caution, the University of Michigan student found himself in the top spot with only a handful of laps remaining. As the laps counted down, the cautions continued up until the final restart. University of Maine at Machias’ Daniel Faulkingham gave him a look on the final lap, but Zwack held on for his first career College Series win.

Last Season: This is the first race at Talladega Superspeedway for the eNASCAR College iRacing Series since its inception back in 2022. Last year’s March event took place at Michigan International Speedway and it was won by Logan Clampitt.

Track Info: Envisioned by NASCAR founder Bill France Sr. to be even bigger and faster than Daytona International Speedway, Talladega Superspeedway opened in 1969 and has hosted the NASCAR Cup Series ever since. Renowned for its high speeds, Buddy Baker became the first driver in NASCAR history to turn a 200 mile per hour lap at the track in 1970, and Bill Elliott set NASCAR’s all-time qualifying record at Talladega with a speed of 212.809 mph in 1987. Talladega is also known for producing many first-time winners, such as Richard Brickhouse in its inaugural race, and lead changes, sometimes with dozens of drivers leading laps.

Entry List: The following 40 drivers have qualified for tonight’s eNASCAR College iRacing Series race at Talladega Superspeedway:





1Benjamin A. WhitePensacola, FloridaPensacola State
2Reece BahamRichmond, VAAuburn
4Nate S StewartHopkinsville, KentuckyHopkinsville CC
5Abraham E VelaHouston, TexasSan Jacinto College
7Brandon ShulenbergerMonroe, North CarolinaWingate
9Jeremy O. BurnsClarke County, VirginiaLongwood
10Arron BrownNelsonia, VirginiaEastern Shore CC
11John Forbes JrRancho Santa Margarita, CaliforniaSaddleback
12Jonathan W EvansNew Fairfield, ConnecticutWestern Connecticut
13C.L. SmithHayden, AlabamaAuburn
14Aaron Mulrooney JrFairlawn, OhioKent State
17Layne GravesMcPherson, KansasWichita State
18Matthew ZwackMonroe, MIMichigan
19Elliot WhiteSanta Barbara, CaliforniaMaryland
21Anthony BurroughsSaint Peters, MissouriSt. Charles CC
22Trey ColemanRockville, VirginiaVirginia CW
23Chris H. BryantGreenville, SCMethodist
24Alexander HeiderSt. Augustine, FloridaSt Johns River
25Jack A ClemonsWilliamsburg, VirginiaVirginia Tech
26Edward Sanchez2Brooklyn, New YorkBaruch College
27James SciolySpokane, WashingtonEastern Washington
28Kelton QuickCincinnati, OhioBall State
30Daniel NanneyClinton Twp, MichiganBall State
31Matthew L MortonPickerington, OhioOhio State Newark
37Charles WimbleyBrooklyn, New YorkGuilford College
40Dylan AultSacramento, CaliforniaSacramento State
42Garrett VitonMedina, OHArizona State
44Logan ClampittTrabuco Canyon, CaliforniaCal State Fullerton
49Garrett LoweGastonia, North CarolinaUNC at Charlotte
54Daniel FaulkinghamJonesport, MaineMaine at Machias
62Landon VelekeDadeville, AlabamaAuburn
70Coleson PhelpsVinton, IowaIowa State
72Kealoha HankinsHonolulu, HawaiiUNC at Charlotte
75Jose Solis JrEast Hatford, CTManchester CC
79Austin FarrLomita, CaliforniaLiberty University
82Kaleb BryanRolla, MissouriMissouri S&T
86Zach SprouseStafford, VAGeorge Mason
87Austin Green7Melbourne, FloridaERAU Daytona
91Colton SalekTampa, FloridaERAU Daytona
99Mario MerendaTulsa, OklahomaOklahoma

The eNASCAR College iRacing Series Powered by NACE Starleague is supported by Coca-Cola, Logitech G, and DBOX. For more information on the series and how to compete, visit https://playfly.com/enascar-college-iracing-series/. For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit www.iracing.com.