Alex Bergeron grabs fourth win of 2023-24 World of Outlaws Thrustmaster Sprint Cars season at Port Royal

The iRacing World of Outlaws Thrustmaster Sprint Car Series took on Port Royal Speedway on Monday night for the eighth race of the 2023-24 season. Three-time series champion Alex Bergeron claimed his fourth win of the year at “The Speed Palace” after qualifying fifth, winning the first heat race, and outpacing points leader Ryan Avila throughout the evening.

Oklahoma native Matthew Powell put it on the pole position in qualifying, ahead of Avila and Nitro Circus Sim Racing teammates Ross Keiser and Kenny Hoffman. Those four drivers would lead their respective heats to the green, but only two would go on to win.

Heat 1 saw Bergeron step up from his fifth place qualifying effort, starting alongside Powell in the quick dash. On lap 7, Bergeron took control as Powell began to fade. Shawn English was also able to get by for second while defending champion Tyler Schell took fourth. In the second heat, Avila was able to get away easily over Timothy Smith and Clayton Davies as Tanner Pettit moved from eighth to finish in fourth and transfer.

The third heat was the wild card race, a race that devolved and saw a title contender keep his hopes alive. Aiden Forster missed it in qualifying, managing 23rd overall which meant a sixth place start in Heat 3. The majority of the field ended up wrecking at one point or another. Forster barely escaped catastrophe, but sacrificed Noah Carpenter in the process. Forster would win and take JD Brown, Keiser, and Chance Ciskowski to the feature.

Heat 4 was less chaotic as Kenny Hoffman dominated, taking Evan Seay, Braden Eyler and Logan Rumsey through to the main event. Rumsey tangled with Blake Matjoulis for the final transfer, ultimately resulting in a DNQ from the former Late Models champion in the second Last Chance race. James Edens and Noah Carpenter made it through LCQ 1, while Joey Lingron and Tanner Miller took the final two spots from LCQ 2.

In the main event, there were two cautions, each of which restacked the field behind Bergeron. Avila kept chasing while Seay moved into third around Forster. Bergeron went on to lead every lap and score the win. Avila, Seay, Forster, and Hoffman rounded out the top five.

Port Royal marks Bergeron’s 23rd career victory, but despite having half the wins this season, his chances at a fourth career title are dwindling as he sits 72 points behind Avila with only two races to go. Avila and last week’s winner, Forster, have pulled away from the rest of the field, only separated by nine points. Logan Rumsey sits third, still with a chance as well, 57 points behind Avila.

Avila still has yet to win a feature race, but even if he doesn’t in the last two races, he could become the first driver to take a title without a win. He’s got two more chances, at Eldora and Charlotte, on the 22nd and 29th of January, before the season is decided.

iRacing World of Outlaws Thrustmaster Sprint Car Series results from Port Royal Speedway were as follows:










1112Alex A Bergeron350.0003316.26278
2249Ryan Avila35-0.642016.27175
3833Evan Seay35-1.308016.45771
4320Aiden Forster35-1.662016.39069
5411Kenny Hoffman35-2.069016.53466
6686Timothy S Smith35-2.203016.56162
71641Logan Rumsey235-2.567016.52557
81385Tyler Schell35-2.767016.50154
9714JD Brown35-3.205016.52653
101547Chance Ciskowski35-4.956016.69748
111050Clayton Davies35-5.390016.58047
121752James Edens35-5.409016.67143
13946Matthew Powell435-5.652016.68943
14209Tanner Miller335-5.761016.54839
151942Noah Carpenter35-6.588016.36837
16125Braden Eyler35-8.770016.43037
171424Tanner Pettit35-13.009016.52834
181816Joey Lingron25-10L016.47930
19118Ross Keiser220-15L016.56631
205960Shawn English13-22L016.55930

iRacing World of Outlaws Thrustmaster Sprint Car Series points after Race #8 are as follows:

  1. Ryan Avila, 520
  2. Aiden Forster, 511
  3. Logan Rumsey, 463
  4. Alex A Bergeron, 448
  5. Tyler Schell, 425
  6. Evan Seay, 395
  7. Tanner Pettit, 356
  8. Noah Carpenter, 355
  9. James Edens, 344
  10. JD Brown, 342

There are only two races left in the 2023-24 iRacing World of Outlaws Thrustmaster Sprint Car Series season. On January 22nd, the second-to-last race of the season takes place at Eldora Speedway. Last season, Eldora was the second race of the season, and it was won by Hayden Cardwell.

The virtual Sprint Car racing action from Eldora will stream live on that Monday night, at 9PM ET, on both DIRTVision and across iRacing social media channels.

For more information on the series, visit For more information on the World of Outlaws, visit For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit