Casey Kirwan passes Malik Ray in final moments to win eNASCAR at Talladega

With the eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series taking on Talladega Superspeedway for the sixth race of the 2023 season, it marked the first time that all 40 drivers would be on the same fixed setup in a points-paying race. Fixed setup or not, the ending to The Biggie Bag $5.00 presented by Wendy’s came down to pure skill and determination as Casey Kirwan willed his XSET Chevrolet just ahead of Collin Bowden’s eRacr machine, giving him just enough of a boost to best Jim Beaver Esports’ Malik Ray at the line by 0.036 seconds.

The victory marks Kirwan’s fourth in series history, but more importantly, it’s his first of the 2023 season which all but guarantees his place in the 2023 eNASCAR Playoffs later down the road. The victory propelled Kirwan into the fourth position in the points standings as he joins JR Motorsports’ Michael Conti, Team Dillon Esports’ Tucker Minter, Stewart-Haas Esports’ Steven Wilson and two-time winner on the season, Joe Gibbs Racing’s Bobby Zalenski as now the fifth driver all-but-locked into the championship hunt.

In the race, eRacr’s Kollin Keister, sporting Wendy’s new Blueberry Pomegranate Lemonade drink on the hood, took the pole position alongside Rise Esports driver Zack Novak, who would be sporting a paint scheme similar to the one that NASCAR legend Dale Earnhardt Sr. drove to his final career victory in 2000. From the moment Barney dropped the green flag, the racing action was fierce as drivers opted to take most every run that was presented to them.

This led to a total of 36 lead changes among 15 drivers, with even more drivers taking the lead that were unable to hold it across the finish line for official scoring. Things were competitive and changing fast around the 2.66-mile venue in Lincoln, AL. There was a total of six caution flags, the biggest one of which came first on lap 31. At least a third of the field was collected in the initial pileup, but all 39 drivers would continue on at that point.

The race was extended a lap for eNASCAR Overtime following the sixth and final caution of the evening. After barely making it back around to the white flag, the race would end under green conditions no matter what. Ray had the lead with a push from Bourdeau and Bowlin. Those two would wreck in the tri-oval, leaving Ray alone and out to dry as the others closed in coming to the checkers. Kirwan somehow made the right moves and can now breathe easier with getting his first win of the season out of the way early.

eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series results from Talladega Superspeedway were as follows:











12595Casey KirwanXSET710.0001147.71640
2237Malik RayJim Beaver eSports71-0.036947.69135
33569Collin BowdeneRacr71-0.066647.48734
42620Wyatt TinsleyKansas City Pioneers71-0.104047.41733
5142Kollin KeistereRacr71-0.201047.82332
632Corey VincentPittsburgh Knights71-0.201147.92331
71445Michael Guest23XI71-0.243047.65930
83041Dylan DuvalStewart-Haas Racing71-0.250247.91229
92217Kaden HoneycuttRFK Racing71-0.384047.90128
101797Matt BussaWilliam Byron eSports71-0.413047.97527
11183Jordy Lopez JrTeam Dillon eSports71-0.432047.91926
1268Michael ContiJR Motorsports71-0.732647.88525
13412Garrett ManesfgrAccel71-0.913347.87824
142936Brandon McKissicLETARTE eSports71-1.151048.06523
151966Tyler GareyTony Kanaan Esports71-1.198047.97022
163227Cody ByusElliott Sadler eSports71-1.242047.66721
171125Nick OttingerWilliam Byron eSports71-1.267647.64720
183914Joey BrownfgrAccel71-1.418047.38519
191051Donovan StraussWilliams eSports71-1.680047.71718
202115Garrett LoweJim Beaver eSports71-1.682047.53017
21316Timmy HolmesRFK Racing71-1.693047.85416
221518Bobby ZalenskiJoe Gibbs Racing71-1.758147.82215
23738Michael Cosey JrFront Row Motorsports71-1.976147.76914
243334Allen BoesFront Row Motorsports71-2.252047.40413
253710Steven WilsonStewart-Haas Racing71-2.298048.09012
261231Derek JustisKansas City Pioneers71-3.036248.05211
273855Vicente SalasWilliams eSports71-3.278247.43510
282011Parker WhiteTony Kanaan Esports71-3.559047.7689
292423Keegan Leahy23XI71-3.571047.7298
30533Tucker MinterTeam Dillon eSports71-3.657047.9177
312748Graham A. BowlinCharlotte Phoenix71-5.1331048.0826
32341Darik BourdeauElliott Sadler eSports71-5.387047.6675
333688Kevin KingJR Motorsports71-7.942047.6674
3484Ryan LuzaXSET71-16.316147.7103
351340Dylan AultLETARTE eSports71-18.638047.8712
361646Jimmy MullisRise eSports71-23.652048.0741
37275Zack NovakRise eSports66-5L1047.8071
382854Daniel FaulkinghamJoe Gibbs Racing65-6L047.8611
39977Ryan DoucettePittsburgh Knights57-14L048.1431

eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series points through six rounds are as follows:

  1. Michael Conti, 170, 1 win
  2. Nick Ottinger, 160
  3. Bobby Zalenski, 159, 2 wins
  4. Casey Kirwan, 158, 1 win
  5. Graham Bowlin, 151
  6. Michael Cosey Jr., 148
  7. Tucker Minter, 147, 1 win
  8. Jordy Lopez Jr., 145
  9. Malik Ray, 138
  10. Keegan Leahy, 135

Back to its normal two-week breaks, the eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series will return with open setups once again for the 1.5-mile tri-oval at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. Race coverage will start on Tuesday, May 2 at 9 p.m. ET at The Countdown to Green, now presented by Wendy’s, kicks off the festivities off at 8:30 p.m. ET as usual.

For more information on the eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series, visit or For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit