Smith Finally Scores First iRacing World of Outlaws Carquest Sprint Car Win at Cedar Lake

To anybody who’s been following along with the 2022-23 iRacing World of Outlaws Carquest Sprint Car Series season, watching a win by Timothy Smith at some point during the season seemed like an inevitability. After all, he led laps in multiple races during the first half of the season, and another podium finish at Fairbury Speedway last week finally allowed him to take the points lead by two over series legend Alex Bergeron.

On Monday night at Cedar Lake Speedway, the stars finally aligned. Smith led nearly the whole 35-lap feature, weathering a late-race challenge from Bergeron after the final restart, to score the breakthrough victory and narrowly extend his championship lead. Smith now holds a five-point advantage over Bergeron with three races remaining after the thrilling duel to the finish.

Smith and Bergeron were joined by Aiden Forster and Tyler Schell as heat winners on the night, while Aiden Bierlein and Kendal Tucker won the two last chance qualifiers. The first caution came out just past halfway as defending race winner Hayden Cardwell rode the Turn 2 wall and flipped after trying to chase down Forster for sixth. The second and final caution came out on Lap 27, when I-55 and Fairbury winner James Edens bounced off the wall and into Tucker.

Both restarts gave Bergeron an opportunity to get past Smith, and he’d finally throw a slider to lead his first lap of the night. But Smith would cross back over to retake the lead, and with pressure from Tanner Pettit for the second spot, Bergeron would have to settle for second as Smith finally took the checkered flag.

iRacing World of Outlaws Carquest Sprint Car Series results from Cedar Lake Speedway were as follows:










1186Timothy S Smith353211.03878
2412Alex A Bergeron35-0.625111.12575
3624Tanner Pettit35-1.070011.17271
4385Tyler Schell35-1.830011.18369
51033Evan Seay35-2.025011.09464
6716Blake Giglio35-2.207011.21362
7220Aiden Forster35-2.604011.14760
815127Blake Matjoulis35-2.872011.49154
9125Braden Eyler35-3.334011.27052
101414JD Brown35-3.928011.30248
111652James Edens35-4.103011.40446
12191Mason Hannagan35-4.441011.42742
131713Aiden Bierlein35-4.655011.38641
1411174Loic Bernier35-5.298011.56741
15917Eric Witner35-6.248011.19239
161800Kendal Tucker35-6.406011.48535
171311Kenny Hoffman35-6.493011.18134
18823Kenny Miller35-6.674011.50434
19507Hayden Cardwell19-16 L011.11232
202041Logan Rumsey12-23 L011.44526


iRacing World of Outlaws Carquest Sprint Car Series points through seven rounds are as follows:

  1. Timothy Smith, 442
  2. Alex Bergeron, 437
  3. Tyler Schell, 409
  4. James Edens, 376
  5. Kendal Tucker, 369
  6. JD Brown, 350
  7. Braden Eyler, 322
  8. Kenny Miller, 318
  9. Hayden Cardwell, 312
  10. Mason Hannagan, 286

The iRacing World of Outlaws Carquest Sprint Car Series season continues next Monday at Knoxville Raceway, where Bergeron will hope to both defend last year’s victory and retake the championship lead. As always, the action streams live at 9PM ET on DIRTVision and across iRacing social media channels.

For more information on the iRacing World of Outlaws Carquest Sprint Car Series, visit For more information on the World of Outlaws, visit For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit