Edens Goes Back-to-Back with iRacing World of Outlaws Sprint Car Win at Fairbury, Smith Takes Points Lead

James Edens joined Hayden Cardwell as the second repeat winner of the 2022-23 iRacing World of Outlaws Carquest Sprint Car Series season on Monday night, leading the most laps in the series’ return to Fairbury Speedway in Illinois from his front row starting spot. Like Cardwell, who went back-to-back at Eldora and Williams Grove, both of Edens’ wins have come in a row, after he took the inaugural checkered flag at the virtual Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 one week ago.

Edens won the second heat race to earn a front row starting spot alongside Heat 1 winner Kenny Miller, with Cardwell and Tyler Schell winning the other two heats to start behind them. Edens would take the lead from Miller on Lap 2 and never look back, surviving three caution periods and remaining just out of reach for Miller all race long. Timothy Smith, Braden Eyler, and defending race winner Evan Seay would complete the top five.

Throughout the season, Smith has been a consistent front-runner, leading laps in multiple races but never quite having it come together for him at the end. He may not have added to that tally or yet broken through for a win on Monday night, but he did finally end up with something to show for it: the points lead. Smith’s third place finish, combined with an incident for Alex Bergeron that dropped him to 17th in the final running order, have given Smith a two-point advantage with four races remaining. Bergeron’s drop has also allowed Schell, Kendal Tucker, and Edens to pull well within reach of taking the points lead with the right combination of results at Cedar Lake next week.

iRacing World of Outlaws Carquest Sprint Car Series results from Fairbury Speedway were as follows:










1252James Edens353111.55978
2123Kenny Miller35-0.486111.54175
3586Timothy S Smith35-1.868011.65171
465Braden Eyler35-2.048011.63768
52033Evan Seay35-2.852011.73961
616127Blake Matjoulis35-3.127011.63160
791Mason Hannagan35-4.304011.68558
81149Ryan Avila35-4.929011.68255
91200Kendal Tucker35-5.118011.67352
10307Hayden Cardwell35-5.379011.66351
111425Tyler Ducharme35-6.239011.77146
12874Adam Elby35-6.488011.71846
131541Logan Rumsey235-6.870011.62842
141818Austen Semmelmann235-6.996011.78039
151922Bryce Lucius35-7.106011.65235
16485Tyler Schell35-7.138011.65439
171012Alex A Bergeron35-7.833011.70635
18714JD Brown35-8.240011.67034
191713Aiden Bierlein35-9.627011.97929
201350Clayton Davies35-9.698011.74528


iRacing World of Outlaws Carquest Sprint Car Series points through six rounds are as follows:

  1. Timothy Smith, 364
  2. Alex Bergeron, 362
  3. Tyler Schell, 340
  4. Kendal Tucker, 334
  5. James Edens, 330
  6. JD Brown, 302
  7. Kenny Miller, 284
  8. Hayden Cardwell, 280
  9. Braden Eyler, 270
  10. Ryan Avila, 255

The iRacing World of Outlaws Carquest Sprint Car Series season continues next Monday at Cedar Lake Speedway, where Cardwell will look to defend last year’s victory and score his series-leading third win of the campaign. As always, the action streams live at 9PM ET on DIRTVision and across iRacing social media channels.

For more information on the iRacing World of Outlaws Carquest Sprint Car Series, visit www.iracing.com/woosc. For more information on the World of Outlaws, visit www.worldofoutlaws.com. For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit www.iracing.com.