Bergeron Back on Top of iRacing World of Outlaws Carquest Sprint Car Series in Volusia Opener

For most of the history of the iRacing World of Outlaws Carquest Sprint Car Series, Quebec’s Alex Bergeron has been seen as the driver to beat. In Monday night’s season opener from the virtual Volusia Speedway Park, the series’ first race since welcoming new title partner Carquest Auto Parts, Bergeron showed exactly why he’s earned multiple championships, regaining the lead from longtime title foil James Edens in the closing laps to win the opener and take the early points lead.

As he so often has in the past, Bergeron qualified first and won Heat 1, with Logan Rumsey, Tyler Schell, and John Helms joining him as heat winners, and Aiden Bierlein and Clayton Tilley winning the last chance qualifiers. Bergeron would hold onto the lead in the early laps, but Timothy Smith would rocket from the edge of the top 10 up to first by riding the outside line.

Two cautions just after halfway would bunch the field up, with a big flip for Bryce Lucius ending his race early for the first and a stackup that spun Kendal Tucker causing the second. Smith maintained the top spot off the first restart, but Edens would pull past on the inside with Bergeron in tow after the second. Soon after, Bergeron would assert himself to the inside of Edens, with the duo running side by side through the final laps. Bergeron would nose ahead as the laps ticked down, maintaining the advantage by just over a tenth of a second at the finish line as Edens made his final move.

iRacing World of Outlaws Carquest Sprint Car Series results from Volusia Speedway Park were as follows:










1112Alex A Bergeron351314.73778
2652James Edens35-0.111414.84174
3385Tyler Schell35-0.412014.82872
41033Evan Seay35-0.701014.83567
5786Timothy S Smith35-0.9661614.64865
6823Kenny Miller35-1.395014.89262
71914JD Brown35-1.912014.97755
8925Tyler Ducharme35-2.191014.93755
9241Logan Rumsey235-2.602014.83654
101274Adam Elby35-2.936014.99449
11141Mason Hannagan35-3.591014.92446
121713Aiden Bierlein35-3.709014.84643
132049Ryan Avila35-3.776014.90540
141851Clayton W Tilley35-4.081014.91639
15520Aiden Forster35-6.496014.85040
161639Andrew Hoefler35-7.745015.13536
171148Dylan Yeager35-18.893014.95235
18421John Helms34-1 L214.96135
191500Kendal Tucker33-2 L014.90330
201322Bryce Lucius21-14 L014.94028


iRacing World of Outlaws Carquest Sprint Car Series points through one round are as follows:

  1. Alex Bergeron, 78
  2. James Edens, 74
  3. Tyler Schell, 72
  4. Evan Seay, 67
  5. Timothy Smith, 65
  6. Kenny Miller, 62
  7. JD Brown, 55
  8. Tyler Ducharme, 55
  9. Logan Rumsey, 54
  10. Adam Elby, 49

The iRacing World of Outlaws Carquest Sprint Car Series season continues next Monday with a visit to Eldora Speedway, where Edens took the checkered flag last year. As always, the action streams live at 9PM ET on DIRTVision and across iRacing social media channels.

For more information on the iRacing World of Outlaws Carquest Sprint Car Series, visit For more information on the World of Outlaws, visit For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit