Seay Back on Top After Dramatic iRacing World of Outlaws Late Model Finish at Volusia

Evan Seay’s march towards the iRacing World of Outlaws ButtKicker Late Model Series title took another step forward on Monday night, as he took his fifth win of the season in Monday night’s penultimate round from Volusia Speedway Park. After the victory, Seay now boasts an 83-point lead on teammate Blake Matjoulis with a single race remaining, next week’s finale at The Dirt Track at Charlotte.

However, Seay’s series-leading fifth win didn’t come without drama. Swindell SpeedLab driver Kendal Tucker, who led most of the middle portion of the race, lost the lead to Seay with 11 laps to go and used a mix of aggressive lines and his bumper to try and get back past. On the final lap, Tucker finally threw a slider that got him under Seay’s rear wheels, unsettled him, and recovered the lead—only for Seay to throw an even more aggressive move into the final corner that ended with Tucker on his roof. The resulting kerfuffle almost allowed Matjoulis to steal the win, as he fell just .006 seconds short of Seay at the line.

Damian Kiefer won the first heat after posting the top qualifying spot and led the first 17 laps of the feature, initially hanging on through the only two cautions of the night. The first came right after the green flag and collected multiple cars, including incoming fourth place driver Logan Rumsey, who went head-on into the wall. The second saw a huge stack-up on Lap 7, causing James Edens to roll over and putting Austin Sessions’ car on top of Mike Augustine’s.

Tucker finally got past Kiefer for the top spot on the outside, benefitting from a short battle between Kiefer and Seay for second that caused both to lose time. Seay pushed to make up the gap from there before the climactic lead change and late incident. While this was happening, Matjoulis methodically worked his way through the pack from the 17th starting spot for the second week in a row, cracking the top five on Lap 32 and getting past Barrett Bishop for third with seven laps to go. Bishop would return to third place after Seay and Tucker’s final-lap incident.

iRacing World of Outlaws ButtKicker Late Model Series results from Volusia Speedway Park were as follows:










1233Evan Seay501116.19678
217127Blake Matjoulis50-0.006016.17869
363Barrett Bishop50-0.234016.33771
4121Damian Kiefer50-1.7421716.21869
554Justin Norwood50-1.968016.30065
6813Travis StClair50-2.101016.27462
71623Chase Barbara50-2.288016.35857
8410Steven  Wilson50-4.819016.32357
91919Mike Augustine50-5.322016.26348
101082Dezmond Busby50-5.717016.28349
1172Jesse Wall50-7.523016.32048
121141Logan Rumsey250-8.696016.31245
131891Félix F. Roy50-8.903016.38941
142079Blake Murray50-8.930016.31639
159157Drew Hopkins50-9.964016.35639
161320Austin Sessions50-10.149016.36436
171518Cameron Cason50-13.359016.53534
18300Kendal Tucker49-1 L2216.18435
1912357Cody Seeber47-3 L016.45831
201452James Edens29-21 L016.22828


iRacing World of Outlaws ButtKicker Late Model Series points through nine rounds are as follows:

  1. Evan Seay, 688
  2. Blake Matjoulis, 605
  3. Kendal Tucker, 523
  4. Logan Rumsey, 500
  5. Dylan Wilson, 453
  6. Barrett Bishop, 445
  7. Dylan Yeager, 439
  8. Dezmond Busby, 427
  9. Zack McSwain, 372
  10. Mike Augustine, 365

The iRacing World of Outlaws ButtKicker Late Model Series season concludes on Monday, October 3 at 9PM ET from The Dirt Track at Charlotte. As always, the action can be streamed live across iRacing social media platforms and DirtVision. In addition, World of Outlaws: Dirt Racing is out now for PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, and Xbox Series X|S platforms. For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit