Seay Earns Fourth iRacing World of Outlaws ButtKicker Late Model Win in Weedsport

Monday night’s iRacing World of Outlaws ButtKicker Late Model Series action from Weedsport Speedway saw a surprise in the heat races, as incoming points leader and three-time race winner Evan Seay finished only second in his heat to line up fifth for the feature. It took him only 13 laps in that race to right the wrong.

For the fourth time in eight races so far this season, it was Seay in the winner’s circle at the end of the 50-lap main event, further extending his points lead as he looks to claim the biggest share of the series’ $25,000 prize pool. His advantage now sits at 74 points over teammate Blake Matjoulis with two races to go, meaning Seay will head into next week’s round at Volusia Speedway Park with a mathematical shot at locking up the title a week early.

Still, he had to face a little more adversity than usual to do it. Logan Rumsey was in control of the night early on, qualifying on pole to Seay’s fifth and holding him off across the line in Heat 1. Zack McSwain would get past Justin Norwood for the win in Heat 2, Chase Barbara would lead every lap in Heat 3 despite starting to the outside of Dezmond Busby on the front row, and Kendal Tucker would complete the heat winners by leading all 10 laps of Heat 4 from pole. Matjoulis would complete the recovery from failing to post a qualifying time by winning the first consolation race, while Austin Sessions won the second to set the 20-car grid.

Initially, Rumsey defended his top spot, pulling away from McSwain in the first few laps. But a hard-charging Seay got up to third by the second lap and passed McSwain soon after, setting his sights on closing the gap to first as he has so often this season. Seay began to make his move on Lap 12, establishing the inside line and taking his time to make the pass stick for good a lap later.

Without any cautions to bunch the field back up, the gap kept growing, expanding to nearly five seconds by race’s end. McSwain would recover to get back past Rumsey for second, making that pass for six laps to go as the duo had also separated themselves from most of the field. But Matjoulis would post the drive of the race, clawing his way up from 17th on the starting grid to finish an impressive fourth.

iRacing World of Outlaws ButtKicker Late Model Series results from Weedsport Speedway were as follows:










1533Evan Seay503815.03377
2225Zack McSwain50-4.756015.15875
3141Logan Rumsey250-5.3231215.08472
417127Blake Matjoulis50-8.718015.14565
5400Kendal Tucker50-9.348015.16066
6680Dylan Wilson50-9.796015.09562
7153Barrett Bishop50-9.955015.13457
8782Dezmond Busby50-10.448015.12556
91012Alex A Bergeron50-10.581015.15752
10323Chase Barbara50-10.723015.16451
11914JD Brown50-11.098015.14747
121319Mike Augustine50-12.182015.05144
13144Justin Norwood50-12.619015.22242
141652James Edens50-13.239015.14040
15813Travis StClair50-13.595015.21640
16200Christopher McGuire50-14.076015.16233
171820Austin Sessions50-14.316015.20732
18112Jesse Wall50-14.548015.29533
1912357Cody Seeber49-1 L015.23731
2019157Drew Hopkins49-1 L015.27726


iRacing World of Outlaws ButtKicker Late Model Series points through eight rounds are as follows:

  1. Evan Seay, 610
  2. Blake Matjoulis, 536
  3. Kendal Tucker, 488
  4. Logan Rumsey, 455
  5. Dylan Wilson, 450
  6. Dylan Yeager, 436
  7. Dezmond Busby, 378
  8. Barrett Bishop, 374
  9. Zack McSwain, 371
  10. Mike Augustine, 317

The iRacing World of Outlaws ButtKicker Late Model Series season continues on Monday, September 26 at 9PM ET with a visit to Volusia Speedway Park. As always, the action can be streamed live across iRacing social media platforms and DirtVision. For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit