Matjoulis Earns Third iRacing World of Outlaws ButtKicker Late Model Win at Kokomo

Former series champion Blake Matjoulis earned his third win of the 2022 iRacing World of Outlaws ButtKicker Late Model Series on Monday night, taking the sixth round of the season at Kokomo Speedway. Once again, Matjoulis would come out on top ahead of his teammate Evan Seay, who continues to lead the championship standings by more than 40 points as the series passed its halfway point on the Indiana quarter mile.

Each of the top four drivers would win their respective heats, with Matjoulis, Zack McSwain, Dylan Yeager, and Seay securing the top four spots for the feature. But with such a short lap and ample opportunity to make contact, the preliminary rounds were anything but straightforward. 2020 series champion Hayden Cardwell and iRacing Off-Road Championship third place finisher Felix Roy went from both moving onto the feature in Heat 2 to dropping into the B Main after late contact in their heat took them both out of transfer spots. That race was even wilder, with Roy surviving early chaos to take the lead before running into a disabled car that ended his night early.

When the feature got going, McSwain would pull ahead for the first few laps, but Matjoulis would reclaim the spot and hold it for most of the race. He’d need to survive a 50-lap feature that was packed with cautions, including three yellows on back-to-back-to-back laps just after the halfway point. But after the last restart, an issue for Kendal Tucker in second gave Matjoulis the breathing room he needed to extend his lead to more than a second, before settling in for a .503-second margin of victory.

Seay would spend most of the night in third before finally climbing into second for good with 11 laps to go, giving up just three points of his 46-point advantage over Matjoulis. To do it, he’d have to pass Steven Wilson, winner of the high-attrition B Main; Wilson clawed his way from 18th on the grid to 14th in the first three laps, broke into the top 10 during the slate of stacked cautions, and spent the last 20 laps of the race in the top five.

iRacing World of Outlaws ButtKicker Late Model Series results from Kokomo Speedway were as follows:










11127Blake Matjoulis500.0004312.53678
2433Evan Seay50-0.503012.47275
31810Steven  Wilson50-1.529012.61766
4841Logan Rumsey250-2.801012.56768
5348Dylan Yeager50-3.912012.48666
6623Chase Barbara50-3.937012.60662
7500Kendal Tucker50-4.836012.52359
8912Alex A Bergeron50-4.940012.44355
9225Zack McSwain50-5.529312.57554
101721Damian Kiefer50-5.758012.69547
11132Jesse Wall50-5.966012.61546
1216157Drew Hopkins50-6.539012.65644
13144Justin Norwood50-7.077012.58642
14719Mike Augustine50-7.630012.51742
151582Dezmond Busby50-8.052012.53138
16103Barrett Bishop50-9.066012.68337
171913Travis StClair50-9.407012.74132
182012Ben Coutermarsh50-9.679012.64730
191280Dylan Wilson50-18.682012.73731
20110Christopher McGuire49-1 L212.67829


iRacing World of Outlaws ButtKicker Late Model Series points after six rounds are as follows:

  1. Evan Seay, 455
  2. Blake Matjoulis, 412
  3. Dylan Yeager, 372
  4. Kendal Tucker, 368
  5. Logan Rumsey, 353
  6. Dylan Wilson, 313
  7. Dezmond Busby, 278
  8. Damian Kiefer, 270
  9. Barrett Bishop, 263
  10. Mike Augustine, 238

The iRacing World of Outlaws ButtKicker Late Model Series season continues on Monday, September 12 at 9PM ET with a visit to Knoxville Raceway, after taking a break next week in observance of Labor Day. As always, the action can be streamed live across iRacing social media platforms and DirtVision. For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit