Cash Converters Supercars Eseries: Kostecki/Filsell dominate Sandown Eseries enduro

Erebus drivers now lead All Stars and Pro Series points

Brodie Kostecki and Jarrad Filsell have crushed the field in the Sandown Eseries enduro.

The #99 Boost Mobile Erebus entry led all 41 laps on Wednesday night.

It was the second straight Eseries enduro win for the duo, adding to their Bathurst win last year.

Kostecki and Filsell now lead the All Stars and Pro Series standings in the Cash Converters Supercars Eseries.

Filsell also became the first non-Walkinshaw Andretti United driver to lead the Pro Series since 2019.

Points leader and reigning champion Dayne Warren was forced to fight back after a first-lap spin for Jayden Ojeda.

However, Warren suffered a late off and plummeted down the field, ensuring Filsell took the Pro Series lead.

Andre Heimgartner/Jake Burton finished second for Brad Jones Racing, with Jake Kostecki/Jordan Caruso third.

Kostecki won the start from Swyftx Pole Position and immediately opened up a big lead.

Drama struck at Turn 4 after Ojeda was turned into a spin by Jordan Boys.

By lap 6, Kostecki’s lead over Heimgartner was four seconds. By lap 13, Kostecki had doubled the margin.

Heimgartner handed over to Burton on lap 17, with Caruso taking over from Kostecki.

Warren took the reins from Ojeda on lap 18, with Randle also stopping.

However, Randle missed his pit box and was forced to stop again, giving Wayne Bourke a mountain to climb.

Kostecki handed over to Filsell on lap 28, with the latter rejoining with a 9.5s lead over Burton.

The race was neutralised on lap 33 by the BP Ultimate Safety Car, wiping out Kostecki’s lead.

Burton went with Filsell on the lap 35 restart, with Caruso, Madison Down and Brenton Hobson rounding out the top five.

Warren was ninth on the restart, but powered towards the front of the field.

On the penultimate lap, Warren fired off at Turn 9 and dropped down the order, putting an end to a miserable day.

Burton was unable to make an impression on Filsell, who held firm and scored victory by three seconds.

Aaron Bord/Down were fourth ahead of Justin Ruggier/Hobson, Jackson Walls/Cooper Webster and Thomas Maxwell/Griffin Gardiner.

Zak Best/Jake Moloney charged to eighth after the latter took fresh tyres under yellow.

James Golding/Kurt Stenberg and Jordan Cox/Jobe Stewart rounded out the top 10, with Warren coming home 15th.

The Cash Converters Supercars Eseries will resume at a Fan’s Choice venue next Wednesday.