Ottinger Survives eNASCAR’s Debut on Dirt, Takes Bristol Checkered Flag

Images via Justin Melillo

William Byron eSports driver Nick Ottinger got around Charlotte Phoenix’s Graham Bowlin with 50 laps to go and never looked back on Tuesday night, scoring his first win of the 2022 eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series season at Bristol Motor Speedway. The 2020 series champion came from fifth on the grid to score the historic victory in the first-ever dirt race at eNASCAR’s highest level, and took over the points lead in the process.

Much like its real-world NASCAR Cup Series counterpart later this week, Tuesday night’s action at Bristol started with heat races, but the pair of 25-lap sessions couldn’t have been more different from one another. Bowlin checked out on the field in the first, extending a lead of more than two seconds over Stewart-Haas eSports driver Steven Wilson at race’s end, but the second saw the front runners closely packed for the entire race on a more worn-in track. In the end, it was Elliott Sadler eSports’ Garrett Manes winning the latter, taking the lead from Team Dillon Esports’ Corey Vincent with six laps remaining.

But while the two heat races saw half the field in each, the 120-lap main event would put all 40 cars on track together for the first time, and the early results were chaotic. Numerous multi-car accidents in the first half of the race took names like 2021 champion Keegan Leahy and two-time 2022 winner Michael Conti out of contention right away, forcing them to salvage as many points as possible while laps down. Manes was able to make a pass on Bowlin for the lead during one of the green flag pockets, but contact and a spin soon after meant it was short-lived.

When all was said and done, eight cautions for 34 laps slowed the early pace, but the field remained clean and green from Lap 65 forward. It was soon after that restart that Ottinger made the winning pass on Bowlin and never looked back, while Wilson would eventually get around Bowlin for second as well. But despite missing out on the victory, dual top 10s for Bowlin and Kollin Keister enabled Charlotte Phoenix to take over the lead in the teams championship.

eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series results from Bristol Motor Speedway (dirt) were as follows:











1525Nick OttingerWilliam Byron eSports1200.0005018.45040
2310Steven WilsonStewart Haas Racing120-3.096018.33435
3148Graham A. BowlinCharlotte Phoenix120-4.2906818.20034
4815Blake ReynoldsJim Beaver eSports120-4.869018.42333
5723Mitchell deJong23XI120-6.736018.37832
61395Casey KirwanXSET120-8.019018.54731
7497Logan ClampittWilliam Byron eSports120-8.185018.29630
82175Matt BussaMode Motorsports120-11.874018.95629
92243Kollin KeisterCharlotte Phoenix120-13.351019.09428
1063Corey VincentTeam Dillon Esports120-13.538018.42427
112733Taylor HurstTeam Dillon Esports120-14.044018.92926
122869Collin BowdeneRacr120-14.391018.85525
131279Femi OlatunbosunClint Bowyer Racing120-14.408018.35224
14345Zack NovakRise eSports120-15.433018.87323
15237Malik RayiRacing Motorsports120-15.635018.72222
161120Donovan StraussWilliams eSports120-16.838018.43521
17231Garrett ManesElliot Sadler eSports120-17.188218.24820
182918Bobby ZalenskiJoe Gibbs Racing120-17.481018.93919
191088Briar LaPraddJR Motorsports120-17.743018.28518
201824Cody ByusMode Motorsports120-18.373019.20117
213746Jimmy MullisRise eSports119-1L018.68716
22384Ryan LuzaXSET119-1L018.52915
232555Allen BoesSpace Station Gaming119-1L019.19614
24202Liam BrothertonElliot Sadler eSports119-1L018.36813
253514Nickolas SheltonClint Bowyer Racing119-1L018.92712
263351Ray AlfallaJoe Gibbs Racing119-1L018.94711
273254Kyle PeddleSpace Station Gaming119-1L018.81310
284041Dylan DuvalStewart Haas Racing119-1L018.5699
29306Parker RetzlaffRoush Fenway Keselowski118-2L018.8038
302617Kaden HoneycuttRoush Fenway Keselowski107-13L018.8027
311621Garrett LoweWood Brothers Racing107-13L018.6826
321916Blade WhittWood Brothers Racing106-14L018.3335
331445Keegan Leahy23XI106-14L018.6064
3498Michael ContiJR Motorsports105-15L018.3993
353936Brian MercurioLetarte Esports101-19L018.8902
36159Michael GuestJim Beaver eSports101-19L018.5881
371740Dylan AultLetarte Esports99-21L018.4311
382442Darik BourdeaueRacr86-34L018.8381
393119Vicente SalasWilliams eSports84Disqualified018.6801
403612Derek JustisiRacing Motorsports27Disqualified018.5921


eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series points through five rounds are as follows:

  1. Nick Ottinger, 152
  2. Steven Wilson, 150
  3. Graham Bowlin, 140
  4. Femi Olatunbosun, 135
  5. Matt Bussa, 127
  6. Blake Reynolds, 126
  7. Bobby Zalenski, 119
  8. Michael Conti, 117
  9. Casey Kirwan, 116
  10. Kollin Keister, 114

The eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series returns to action in two weeks at Dover Motor Speedway, as the high-banked Monster Mile will return to the series calendar after a one-year absence in 2021. Broadcast coverage begins on Tuesday, April 26 at 8:30PM ET with Countdown to Green before the 9PM ET green flag. Live coverage of all the action can be seen at

For more information on the eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series, visit or For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit