Cardwell Wins iRacing World of Outlaws Sprint Cars at Weedsport, Merriman Seizes Points Lead

Images via Justin Prince

Cameron Merriman may be your new iRacing World of Outlaws NOS Energy Sprint Car Series points leader, but when it comes to closing the deal in the feature, he still can’t buy any luck.

A week after wrecking without contact coming to the white flag at Fairbury American Legion Speedway, Hayden Cardwell got into Merriman on the final restart of Monday night’s penultimate round of the season at Weedsport Speedway. Cardwell would settle into the lead and take his second win of the season, while Tyler Schell also got past for second and Braden Eyler hung on for third after dueling with Merriman to the finish.

Back-to-back cautions in the last 10 laps—the first including Landon Cardoza, the second including Tyler Ducharme, and both collecting Felix Roy—bunched the field back up, erasing what had been a nearly three second lead for Merriman. Cardwell shot from fourth to second on the first of those restarts, before slipping into Merriman on the latter with three laps to go in what ended up being the decisive pass for the win.

Merriman’s consolation prize could be the biggest one of all, though. Thanks to a ninth place finish for incoming points leader and three-time defending series champion Alex Bergeron, he holds a 13-point championship lead going into next week’s finale at The Dirt Track at Charlotte Motor Speedway. That means it’s Merriman, not Bergeron, who controls his own destiny next week, and enters the event with the best chance at taking home the $10,000 champion’s prize.

iRacing World of Outlaws NOS Energy Sprint Car Series results from Weedsport Speedway were as follows:










1307Hayden Cardwell35312.72778
2485Tyler Schell35-0.406012.90075
355Braden Eyler35-0.747012.88171
4217Cameron Merriman35-0.7721512.74969
51448Dylan Yeager35-0.930013.06663
61352James Edens35-1.271013.05460
7133Evan Seay35-1.6401312.73860
81141Logan Rumsey35-1.816012.99255
91212Alex A Bergeron35-2.469013.04252
101518Austen Semmelmann35-3.119013.12348
111776Brayden Shute35-3.518013.03445
12900Kendal Tucker35-3.540012.97245
131622Mason Hannagan35-3.828013.12242
141850Clayton Davies35-3.993013.04739
151913Aiden Bierlein35-4.176013.25937
162091Félix F. Roy35-4.207013.25135
171025Tyler Ducharme35-5.026012.87535
188114Landon Cardoza32-3 L312.87334
19714JD Brown10-25 L013.16832
206127Blake Matjoulis8-27 L013.07030


iRacing World of Outlaws NOS Energy Sprint Car Series points through nine rounds are as follows:

  1. Cameron Merriman, 574
  2. Alex Bergeron, 561
  3. James Edens, 550
  4. Braden Eyler, 519
  5. Hayden Cardwell, 490
  6. Logan Rumsey, 481
  7. Kendal Tucker, 434
  8. Tyler Schell, 434
  9. Evan Seay, 406
  10. Blake Matjoulis, 379

The 2021-22 iRacing World of Outlaws NOS Energy Sprint Car Series season wraps up next Monday at The Dirt Track at Charlotte, where the final split of this year’s $25,000 total purse will be determined. The event will stream live on iRacing social media and DirtVision on Monday at 9PM ET/6PM PT. For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit