Seay Survives Unpredictable iRacing World of Outlaws Sprint Car Final at Fairbury

Images via Justin Prince

You could be forgiven for not knowing what to make of Monday night’s iRacing World of Outlaws NOS Energy Sprint Car Series race at Fairbury American Legion Speedway.

What looked like a dream event for Cameron Merriman—a battle for the lead with Evan Seay resolved in his favor and a connection issue for Alex Bergeron that knocked the three-time defending champion and incoming points leader out of the race—ended in the catch fence coming to the white flag, as the presumptive new points leader caught the wall coming out of Turn 4 and added yet another yellow flag to a busy night for the virtual pace truck. As a result, Seay held off Tyler Ducharme in the resulting two-lap shootout to the finish, scoring his second win of the season at the popular Illinois quarter mile.

It’s little consolation to Merriman, but he was far from the only driver to suffer issues in the race. Last week’s winner Hayden Cardwell had to overcome a last-place finish in his heat to barely sneak in through the last chance qualifier, and even he still got caught up in a wreck that ended his night early. The same went for Swindell Speedlab teammates Kendal Tucker and Adam Elby, the former of whom had been fighting Seay for the lead around the race’s halfway point.

With Merriman relegated to just two spots ahead of Bergeron in the finishing order, the points lead didn’t change hands after all, but the battle did get tighter. Bergeron’s lead is now down to four over Merriman after the unpredictable result, while James Edens pulled to within 19 by surviving those kinds of incidents and hanging on for sixth.

iRacing World of Outlaws NOS Energy Sprint Car Series results from Fairbury Speedway were as follows:










1133Evan Seay351810.78578
2925Tyler Ducharme35-0.218010.98173
3541Logan Rumsey35-0.390011.01171
41076Brayden Shute35-0.684011.04767
535Braden Eyler35-1.047010.95866
6852James Edens35-1.450011.03062
71585Tyler Schell35-1.553011.08957
8248Dylan Yeager35-2.069011.15157
91686Timothy S Smith35-2.450010.89651
101491Félix F. Roy35-2.457011.17148
111350Clayton Davies35-2.791011.04346
121169Shae Paulo35-2.915011.26545
131718Austen Semmelmann34-1 L011.14041
14717Cameron Merriman33-2 L1210.97342
151213Aiden Bierlein30-5 L111.05239
16612Alex A Bergeron20-15 L010.97838
17400Kendal Tucker19-16 L110.95937
181974Adam Elby18-17 L011.03731
192007Hayden Cardwell8-27 L011.12326
20186Rylan Gray7-28 L011.21626


iRacing World of Outlaws NOS Energy Sprint Car Series points through eight rounds are as follows:

  1. Alex Bergeron, 509
  2. Cameron Merriman, 505
  3. James Edens, 490
  4. Braden Eyler, 448
  5. Logan Rumsey, 426
  6. Hayden Cardwell, 412
  7. Kendal Tucker, 389
  8. Adam Elby, 364
  9. Tyler Schell, 359
  10. Blake Matjoulis, 349

The iRacing World of Outlaws NOS Energy Sprint Car Series season visits Weedsport Speedway for its penultimate round of the 2021-22 season next Monday; Merriman took his first win in the series there last year. The event will stream live on iRacing social media and DirtVision on Monday at 9PM ET/6PM PT. For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit