Hallman Wins Second Straight iRacing Rallycross World Championship Round at Hell

Images via Justin Melillo

SET Esports’ Tommi Hallman continued to close the points gap in the iRacing Rallycross World Championship presented by Yokohama on Wednesday, taking the checkered flag at Hell Lankebanen on the Halloween-week race from Norway for the second year in a row. It was his second straight win in the season after taking the checkered flag in Barcelona last week, and third overall after scoring the victory in Daytona to open the campaign.

A shuffle through the grid saw two new names on the podium joining him for the first time this season. Hansen Williams Esports’ Jarno Leskinen, one of the season’s top rookies, slotted into second place on the final lap, coming home ahead of Elliott Sadler Esports’ Garrett Manes in third. Championship leader Jonathan Robertson of Subaru Motorsports USA came home fourth, ahead of his closest title rival, SET Esports’ Jonne Ollikainen.

Yokohama Pole Award: Before taking his series-leading third victory of 2021, Hallman managed to snap Robertson’s four-race Yokohama Pole Award streak with the top qualifying time of the event. However, by becoming the third different pole winner of the year, he guaranteed Robertson will at least have a share of the season-long award; a fourth will put it in the Briton’s hands outright.

DirtFish Rookie of the Year: Leskinen’s runner-up finish enabled him to close the gap on Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Kevin Ellis Jr. in the DirtFish Rookie of the Year standings. He’s now eighth in the overall standings, just 16 points behind Ellis in fifth.

The 2021 DirtFish Rookie of the Year will receive a complimentary Three Day course from DirtFish, the Official Rallying School of iRacing Rallycross. To sign up and get behind the wheel yourself, visit drive.dirtfish.com.

Hard Charger Award: Loenbro Motorsports’ Tommi Nukarinen jumped 14 spots from his starting position, finishing ninth overall in his first final appearance of the season after qualifying 23rd. Three other drivers—Leskinen, Team Yokohama’s Sindre Silva, and Ed Carpenter Racing’s Matt Bussa—jumped 12 spots apiece in the overall rankings.

iRX All-Star Invitational: Does anyone have what it takes to repeat as a winner in the All-Star division? Hell provided yet another compelling show of new drivers up front that ended with 2020 eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series champion Nick Ottinger taking the lead from Logitech G Altus Esports boss Simon Feigl on the final lap of the feature to earn the victory. It was the completion of unfinished business from last year, when Ottinger took second in the season finale at Sonoma Raceway.

Feigl held on for second, while Apex Racing Team’s Jamie Fluke completed his slate of All-Star races in third. 2021 eNASCAR champion Keegan Leahy made his iRX debut in the 17-car field, qualifying sixth, advancing to the final with a second place finish in his heat, and climbing to as high as second before an early incident took him out of contention for the win. Team Fordzilla’s Pablo Lopez still paces the standings; GoProLopez’s best five scores add up to 82, seven points better than ARCA Menards Series driver Parker Retzlaff.

iRX World Championship presented by Yokohama feature results from Hell Lankebanen were as follows:











1187Tommi HallmanSubaru101036.36229
2652Jarno LeskinenSubaru10-2.919036.63419
322Garrett ManesSubaru10-3.445036.61418
4986Jon RobertsonSubaru10-3.751036.67617
51044Jonne OllikainenSubaru10-4.185036.42814
63199Otto TaskinenSubaru10-4.645036.71913
7518Killian DallolmoSubaru10-5.384036.67211
8413Jakob RafossSubaru10-8.289036.70511
9783Tommi NukarinenSubaru10-9.073036.9229
10899Marcos MatamorosSubaru10-10.739037.0358


iRX World Championship presented by Yokohama driver standings through six rounds are as follows:

  1. Jon Robertson, 145
  2. Jonne Ollikainen, 129
  3. Tommi Hallman, 124
  4. Yohann Harth, 82
  5. Kevin Ellis Jr., 76
  6. Vicente Salas, 69
  7. Killian Dall’olmo, 62
  8. Jarno Leskinen, 60
  9. Luis Nunez, 45
  10. Jake Robertson, 44

iRX World Championship presented by Yokohama team standings through six rounds are as follows:

  1. SET Esports, 253
  2. Subaru Motorsports USA, 227
  3. Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, 120
  4. Elliott Sadler eSports, 108
  5. SET Esports Team GRX, 99
  6. Hansen Williams Esports, 96
  7. Logitech G Altus Esports, 72
  8. Jim Beaver eSports, 67
  9. Nitro Circus, 62
  10. Vermont SportsCar, 57

iRacing Rallycross presented by Yokohama continues next Wednesday at Phoenix Raceway. Coverage kicks off with the All-Star Invitational at 4PM ET and continues with the World Championship at 5PM ET, and will air across iRacing’s Facebook, Twitch, and YouTube. iRX will also be covered in Finnish by the Finnish Sim Racing Association, in French by BenjxMotors, and in Norwegian by the Norwegian SimRacing Channel.

For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit www.iracing.com.