Leonel Pernia Wraps Up eNASCAR International iRacing Series With Daytona Win

It took 30 laps to settle the score, but when the checkered flag finally fell on the Daytona International Speedway Road Course, it was Leonel Pernia who would take the checkered flag in the final eNASCAR International iRacing Series event of the short season on Wednesday. The veteran racer bettered his runner-up finish from last week’s event at Circuit of the Americas to take the checkered flag in a strategy-influenced event.

Daytona featured the most leaders and lead changes of any event in the season, with four different drivers taking the point at various parts of the event. Nick Sanchez led the first lap, but would fail to finish after a spin in the infield section. Pernia would take the lead from Frederic Gabillon on Lap 5 and lead until pit stops, giving up the point to Victor Barrales Jr., who had pit earlier. However, fresher tires would enable Pernia to reel Barrales in and make the winning pass on Lap 25.

Polesitter Simon Pilate, who dominated the opening race at Brands Hatch, would complete the podium. He and Barrales would be the only two drivers to finish in the top five in all three events. Brands Hatch runner-up Paul Jouffreau and Gabillon would round out the top five. 14 drivers in the field of 21, the largest of the series, would finish the race on the lead lap.

eNASCAR International iRacing Series results from the Daytona International Speedway Road Course were as follows:











1375Leonel PerniaFord30171:56.42840
2839Victor BarralesFord30-3.12491:56.64735
3166Simon PilateChevrolet30-4.29201:55.96434
4664Paul JouffreauFord30-16.48901:57.70333
553Frederic GabillonFord30-21.99531:57.02032
6413Rajah CaruthChevrolet30-38.66701:56.96231
7751Jake CosioToyota30-39.07901:57.84730
8118Paul JourdainToyota30-45.96401:57.79429
9142Abraham CalderonChevrolet30-1:03.97001:58.39928
101319Jaiden ReynaChevrolet30-1:09.03801:58.62827
11989Davide DallaraChevrolet30-1:33.16601:57.66926
121222Andres Perez de LaraFord30-1:44.12601:58.06425
131014Giorgio MaggiFord30-1:51.33501:58.25924
141621Alex de AlbaFord30-1:59.79501:59.34923
151877Jocelyn FecteauChevrolet29-1 L02:00.65622
161518Justin T CampbellChevrolet29-1 L01:57.97421
172055Isabella G RobustoChevrolet25-5 L02:08.43320
181788Ruben GarciaToyota21-9 L02:00.42019
19212Nicholas SanchezChevrolet18-12 L11:56.98218
201934Lavar ScottChevrolet10-20 L02:01.63317
212110Regina SirventChevrolet6-24 L016


For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit www.iracing.com.