Brandon Traino Wins Third Straight iRacing Indianapolis 500

For the record-extending third year in a row, Brandon Traino is the winner of the top split of the iRacing Indianapolis 500 for 2021. After using a win in the Friday split to get ready for the big show, the real-world tire changer for Joe Gibbs Racing posted a dominant performance saw him lead 122 of the race’s 200 laps on the way to a .272-second victory over teammate and polesitter Michele Costantini.

Traino immediately took the lead from Costantini at the start of the race, setting the stage for an exciting battle throughout the day between the duo. Costantini would reclaim the top spot on Lap 22 to lead the first of his 52 laps up front, but would give up the lead for good to Traino on Lap 188. Porsche TAG Heuer Esports Supercup front-runner Zac Campbell would lead six laps of his own on the way to completing the podium.

19 of the 33 drivers in the top split finished on the lead lap, including a top five separated by under three seconds. Just four cautions slowed the pace, with more than 90 green-flag laps at the end of the race emboldening drivers to push different pit strategies in hopes of stealing the top split win. All told, there were 31 lead changes on the day, with six different drivers spending time up front.

Beyond the top split, iRacers combined for 82 different splits of this year’s Indy 500 across four different time slots. Congratulations to all of this year’s winners!

Full results from the top split of the 2021 iRacing Indianapolis 500 were as follows:










123Brandon TrainoDallara IR1820012240.719
2113Michele CostantiniDallara IR18200-0.2725240.773
332Zac CampbellDallara IR18200-0.947640.668
4524Wilson NetoDallara IR18200-1.806040.661
567Philip KrausDallara IR18200-2.349140.561
61020Connor HarringtonDallara IR18200-9.372040.806
798Jason BrophyDallara IR18200-9.892040.662
8116Henry BennettDallara IR18200-10.501040.787
92228Andrew KinsellaDallara IR18200-11.053040.679
10169Brendan LichtenbergDallara IR18200-11.351040.832
11427Yohann HarthDallara IR18200-11.811440.833
122111Hugo OlssonDallara IR18200-12.256040.644
132818Jesper ÖhrmanDallara IR18200-12.880040.773
141421Andrew Z WoodDallara IR18200-17.474040.866
152025Liam QuinnDallara IR18200-26.883040.912
16195Andreas EikDallara IR18200-27.624040.822
172416Chad SimpsonDallara IR18200-28.526040.843
183122Adam CraneDallara IR18200-28.913040.694
193229James C WalkerDallara IR18200-29.657040.903
202919Alexis NewsomeDallara IR18199-1 L040.574
21174Joshua ChinDallara IR18199-1 L040.874
223330Frank Levick IVDallara IR18199-1 L041.041
2381Christopher DemerittDallara IR18187-13 L1540.724
241810Austin EspiteeDallara IR18185-15 L040.822
252615Riley ThompsonDallara IR18143-57 L040.707
261514A J BurtonDallara IR18106-94 L040.823
27726Tanner J WatkinsDallara IR18106-94 L041.074
282733Joao ValverdeDallara IR18105-95 L041.039
291212Christian SteeleDallara IR1886-114 L040.740
301317Matt PawelskiDallara IR1880-120 L040.791
312332Rodrigo FranzoniDallara IR1879-121 L040.933
322531Plinio FerreiraDallara IR1854-146 L041.090
333023Jacob OsterDallara IR1817-183 L041.207


The iRacing special event calendar continues with the full-length iRacing Coca-Cola 600 as part of the NASCAR iRacing Series schedule this weekend. Endurance racing returns on the week of June 18th with the iRacing Watkins Glen 6HR, featuring the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship lineup, while open-wheel drivers can strap into the Dallara iR-01 on July 10-13 for the inaugural iRacing HockenheimRing Grand Prix. For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit