iRacing Rallycross All-Star Invitational presented by Yokohama Race Preview: Daytona/Barcelona

The world’s best rallycross drivers—both real and virtual—are ready to get back behind the wheel on iRacing on Tuesday afternoon, as the second round of the iRacing Rallycross All-Star Invitational presented by Yokohama splits the series after a unified round at Brands Hatch two weeks ago. The real pros head to North America for a visit to Daytona International Speedway, while sim racing’s top drivers stay in Europe for the first major broadcasted iRX event from Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya.

Headlined by FIA World Rallycross superstars Andreas Bakkerud and Kevin Hansen, four-time American rallycross champion Scott Speed, and RX Lites champions Henrik Krogstad and Conner Martell, the real-world pros put on an exciting show at Brands Hatch last time out. In the end, it was Bakkerud who beat Krogstad to the checkered flag in England, with Tanner Whitten completing the podium. Hansen, meanwhile, will be looking for redemption after having excellent qualifying pace but falling victim to contact in the heats and last chance qualifier.

While the spring All-Star round from the World Center of Racing was held on the short layout, instead of the long layout that will be used this week, much of the current pro field excelled at the track. Speed and Hansen had multiple thrilling battles in the race, while Martell, Bakkerud, and James Hinchcliffe also made final appearances. Last fall’s All-Star race at Daytona, meanwhile, went to IndyCar standout Sage Karam, who jumped from the back of the grid into an early lead and led all 10 laps to take his first win in an eventual championship-winning season.

The sim pros pick up their battle at Barcelona after a top-tier race of their own two weeks ago. Half of the 10-car final grid came from last year’s World Championship driver roster, including top four finishers Yohann Harth, Jon Robertson, Tommi Hallman, and Killian Dall’olmo. A majority of the same drivers from the Brands Hatch Time Attack have made it to this week’s entry list as well, with fellow 2020 World Championship competitor Rasmus Tuominen headlining the new additions.

Coinciding with Tuesday’s All-Star Invitational, the Time Attack session for sim racers to join next week’s race at Atlanta Motor Speedway will run from May 4-7 GMT. In addition, the Time Attack to qualify for the finale at Charlotte Motor Speedway runs from May 25-28 GMT. Real-world pros will head to Sonoma Raceway on May 11 while the sim standouts run Atlanta, while both series will meet once again at Charlotte for the June 1 finale.

iRacing Rallycross All-Star Invitational presented by Yokohama action from Daytona and Barcelona kicks off on Tuesday at 5PM ET/2PM PT on iRacing, Nitro Circus, and Roadshow by CNET social media channels. For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit