VRS Coanda Simsport Wins Top Split of 2021 iRacing 24 Hours of Daytona

Three of iRacing’s most dominant road racers combined to take top honors in the top split of the 2021 iRacing 24 Hours of Daytona on Sunday morning, as VRS Coanda Simsport’s Joshua Rogers, Mitchell deJong, and Mack Bakkum took the checkered flag in the annual twice-around-the-clock visit to Daytona International Speedway modeled after IMSA’s premier event. The trio combined to lead a whopping 861 of 898 laps in the Dallara P217 LMP2, over 60 laps more than Rogers, deJong, and Martin Kronke completed on the way to last year’s top split victory.

All three podium entries in the top split were on the same lap. The Williams Esports quartet of Moreno Sirica, Josh Thompson, Diogo Pinto, and Michael Romanidis led 19 laps on the way to a second place finish, climbing from eighth on the grid. Mivano Simracing Everyeye.it’s Dion Fiallo, Tommaso Carla, Fraser Williamson, Sacha Gorle, and Maxime Brient completed the podium and led five laps of their own.

When all was said and done, two of the three classes were decided by less than a lap. In the GTE class, Triple A Esports’ Andreas Jochimsen, Jackson Souslin Harlow, Rafaele Rezzag, and Chris Lulham beat the MSI eSports squad of Marc Perez, Alejandro Sanchez, Salva Talens, and Dani Elgarbay in a battle of BMW M8 GTEs. The only one-lap margin of victory came in GTD, as Team BMW Bank’s Kay Kaschube, Nils Koch, and Laurin Heinrich defeated Vendaval Simracing’s Braden Eves, Dekota Fripp, and Joshua Anderson in a showdown of the new BMW M4 GT3 and Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo.

iRacing’s 24 Hours of Daytona featured two event dates, a Friday evening launch and a Saturday morning start that was delayed into the afternoon due to overwhelming iRacer demand. More than 3,100 total entries signed up for this year’s event, with a total of nearly 10,000 drivers blowing last year’s record of over 6,200 signups out of the water. The event always attracts a large number of real-world racers, and 2021 was no exception: F1’s Max Verstappen and IndyCar’s Sage Karam were each in the top split, while Fernando Alonso, Rubens Barrichello, Landon Cassill, Garrett Smithley, James Davison, and Anthony Alfredo were among the real-world racers to score podiums in their respective splits.

Results from the top split of the 2021 iRacing 24 Hours of Daytona were as follows:











118VRS Coanda Simsport $8Dallara P217LMP28988611:32.809
286Williams EsportsDallara P217LMP2898-50.788191:32.514
355Mivano Simracing Everyeye.itDallara P217LMP2898-57.91251:32.530
41315Team Redline PurpleDallara P217LMP2897-1 L01:32.735
5412Team Redline Ice BlueDallara P217LMP2897-1 L01:32.519
62033DeltaSport U4KDallara P217LMP2896-2 L01:32.764
71217YAS HEAT Richard MilleDallara P217LMP2896-2 L01:32.560
81467VRS Satellite Racing RedDallara P217LMP2894-4 L01:32.754
91529Energy Simsport #77Dallara P217LMP2894-4 L01:32.295
10913VRS Coanda Simsport $88Dallara P217LMP2894-4 L01:32.766
11324Inertia SimRacing EURORC.COMDallara P217LMP2891-7 L01:32.868
12218VRS Coanda Simsport $18Dallara P217LMP2891-7 L131:32.490
13722RaceKraft Esports GoldDallara P217LMP2890-8 L01:32.420
141630Obsidian RacingDallara P217LMP2884-14 L01:32.900
1527210Triple A Esports WhiteBMW M8 GTEGTE849-49 L01:39.212
16241MSi eSports RedBMW M8 GTEGTE849-49 L01:38.892
173089BMW Team BS COMPETITIONBMW M8 GTEGTE848-50 L01:39.155
1829707KOVABMW M8 GTEGTE848-50 L01:39.126
192271BMW Team RedlineBMW M8 GTEGTE847-51 L01:39.331
202877BMW Team GBBMW M8 GTEGTE847-51 L01:39.270
213143ASTRO Gaming Altus EsportsPorsche 911 RSRGTE845-53 L01:39.290
22354Triple A Esports BlackBMW M8 GTEGTE843-55 L01:39.461
233228Sportteam CompeticionFerrari 488 GTEGTE840-58 L01:39.686
243627AlpineEagleRacingPorsche 911 RSRGTE835-63 L01:39.842
25387Team BMW BankBMW M4 GT3GTD815-83 L01:42.800
2641141Vendaval Simracing RedLamborghini Huracán GT3 EVOGTD814-84 L01:42.941
2748176SimRC Carbon $Daytona 24BMW M4 GT3GTD813-85 L01:43.254
2837451Biela Racing Team EURONICS $GT3 ILamborghini Huracán GT3 EVOGTD813-85 L01:43.017
2939142Vendaval Simracing BlueLamborghini Huracán GT3 EVOGTD813-85 L01:43.283
304648SRC Squadra Corse BlackLamborghini Huracán GT3 EVOGTD813-85 L01:43.135
314719Team FordzillaBMW M4 GT3GTD813-85 L01:43.177
32449MAHLE RACING TEAMBMW M4 GT3GTD813-85 L01:43.103
335014Aurys Racing Team MRWBMW M4 GT3GTD812-86 L01:43.341
34423CoRe SimRacingLamborghini Huracán GT3 EVOGTD812-86 L01:43.210
3549452Biela Racing Team EURONICS $GT3 IILamborghini Huracán GT3 EVOGTD812-86 L01:42.863
365525R8G eSports Jr #2BMW M4 GT3GTD811-87 L01:43.260
3753116Puresims EsportsLamborghini Huracán GT3 EVOGTD809-89 L01:43.443
385416URANO eSports HKMBMW M4 GT3GTD737-161 L01:43.275
391897Team RSO #97Dallara P217LMP2600-298 L01:32.812
401910#R4RMotorsportDallara P217LMP2564-334 L01:32.756
412520Maniti Racing GTEBMW M8 GTEGTE524-374 L01:39.548
425126Triple A Esports  # GreenBMW M4 GT3GTD378-520 L01:43.437
434591BS COMPETITIONBMW M4 GT3GTD228-670 L01:43.451
44261DV1 TRITON RacingBMW M8 GTEGTE191-707 L01:39.610
455279Maniti Racing GTDLamborghini Huracán GT3 EVOGTD146-752 L01:43.589
462172Team Redline OrangeBMW M8 GTEGTE89-809 L01:39.704
4710169R8G Esports #8Dallara P217LMP20-898 L0
481178MB Racing Esport NordicDallara P217LMP20-898 L0
491781VRS Coanda Simsport $81Dallara P217LMP20-898 L0
50342R8G Esports #2BMW M8 GTEGTE0-898 L0
514076SimRC Titan $Daytona24BMW M4 GT3GTD0-898 L0
523311Logitech G Altus EsportsPorsche 911 RSRGTE0-898 L0
534321URANO eSports HPBMW M4 GT3GTD0-898 L0
54623YAS HEAT MicrosoftDallara P217LMP20-898 L0
5523911Porsche24 driven by RedlinePorsche 911 RSRGTE0-898 L0


The next iRacing special event is the 2021 iRacing Daytona 500, taking place on February 12-14 as part of the NASCAR iRacing Series schedule. The next road racing-themed special event is the 2021 iRacing Bathurst 12 Hour for GT3s on February 26-28, while the IMSA class lineup returns in the 2021 iRacing Sebring 12 Hour on March 26-28. For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit www.iracing.com.

Image via Improvised Design/Coanda Simsport