Bergeron Returns to Winning Ways in World of Outlaws Sprint Car Opener

Stop us if you’ve heard this one before: Alex Bergeron took the win in an iRacing World of Outlaws NOS Energy Sprint Car World Championship race on Monday night.

The two-time defending series champion from Quebec made up for an underwhelming 11th place qualifying performance, stealing the lead from top title rival James Edens on the last lap of his heat and leading the final eight laps of the feature at Volusia Speedway Park to score a victory in the championship opener. Bergeron made the decisive pass on Nick Cooper, who hung on for second place, while last season’s Late Model World Champion Hayden Cardwell clung to the final podium spot.

This season’s WoO Sprint Car entry list added Cardwell and 2018 series champion Tim Ryan to a deep entry list that already featured past race winners and perpetual front-runners like Bergeron, Edens, Braden Eyler, Kendal Tucker, and Cole Cabre. Ryan’s return to the grid commenced with a fourth place finish, just ahead of Edens by four one-thousandths of a second at the finish line. Four cautions slowed down the feature, but only Tucker (who nonetheless led two laps) and Zane Scott failed to finish every circuit among the 20 drivers to make the main event.

iRacing World of Outlaws NOS Energy Sprint Car World Championship results from Volusia Speedway Park were as follows:










1312Alex A Bergeron36814.76978
2635Nick Cooper36-0.854814.76974
3122Hayden Cardwell36-1.387014.82972
4598Tim Ryan36-1.552014.92568
5752James Edens36-1.556014.84665
6225Tyler Ducharme36-1.5831614.69963
71371Cole V Cabre36-1.666014.81757
81085Tyler Schell36-2.235014.81155
91880Joshua Steinke36-2.362014.81650
10810Rusty L Kruger36-2.363014.78250
11141Mason Hannagan36-2.801014.94146
121618Austen Semmelmann236-2.870014.84844
13195Braden Eyler36-3.576014.77141
14158Cole Neuhalfen36-3.684014.83840
151141Logan Rumsey36-4.075014.93239
161717Cameron Merriman36-4.211014.86535
17974Adam Elby36-4.654014.97435
182021Shae Paulo36-4.854014.91130
19400Kendal Tucker35-1 L214.83533
201237Zane Scott4-32 L014.82129


The iRacing World of Outlaws NOS Energy Sprint Car World Championship season continues on Monday, November 16 at 9PM ET with a visit to Knoxville Raceway. Eyler is the defending Knoxville winner, while Bergeron scored victories at the track in both 2018 and 2019, and Ryan and Edens have a win there apiece. The race can be seen live for free on DirtVision at and on iRacing’s social media channels. For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit