Morgan’s Win Sets Up Four-Way World of Outlaws Late Model Title Battle

Just one race remains in the chase for $25,000 in the iRacing World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model World Championship. After Monday night’s penultimate round at Williams Grove Speedway, who takes the largest share of that prize pool is anyone’s guess.

Series rookie Devon Morgan became the second first-time series winner in a row on Monday night, dominating a caution-free 50-lap feature to further close the gap to the championship lead after a consistent season. Morgan pulled a gap of more than two seconds at race’s end over Hayden Cardwell, who regained the points lead by just two over third-place finisher Dylan Wilson.

In a perfect demonstration of the cream rising to the top, the top five drivers in points coming into the night landed the top five starting spots, with Morgan, Cardwell, Evan Seay, and Wilson winning their four heats and Knoxville winner Kendal Tucker finishing second to Morgan to start fifth. On the longest track of the season, as was the case last year, experience didn’t work to top drivers’ advantage; Austin Carr and Alex Bergeron, the first two Williams Grove race winners, had to win their respective last chance qualifiers just to get to the final.

From there, the longest race of the year went caution-free, in spite of some big incidents in the preliminary rounds. Only Wilson and Seay flipped spots from within the top five, while defending series champion Blake Matjoulis was one of the night’s biggest gainers, jumping from 12th to sixth. Only Bergeron, who converted his 18th place starting spot to a ninth place finish, was able to pass more cars in the main event.

That sets up an intense championship battle at The Dirt Track at Charlotte in two weeks’ time, with Cardwell, Wilson, Tucker, and Morgan separated by just 28 points and Seay a mathematical possibility in the event of chaos among the other four. With just three points separating each position in the final, Tucker and Morgan will need Cardwell and Wilson to have Knoxville-like struggles once again to close the gap, but if not, the higher finisher between those two will likely walk away with a $10,000 champion’s prize.

Full results from the iRacing World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model World Championship feature at Williams Grove Speedway were as follows:










11112Devon Morgan505020.53878
2207Hayden Cardwell50-2.380020.52675
3480Dylan Wilson50-5.368020.59272
4333Evan Seay50-5.618020.59169
5500Kendal Tucker50-7.481020.61665
612127Blake Matjoulis50-7.605020.70461
71014JD Brown50-7.763020.60458
8725Zack McSwain50-8.107020.65056
91812Alex A Bergeron50-9.887020.66050
101352James Edens50-10.527020.71148
11632Steven Wilson50-11.837020.65748
12974Adam Elby50-13.508020.72745
131146Dillon Raffurty50-14.384020.81343
141671Cole V Cabre50-14.534020.73340
15190Kevin Dedmon50-14.823020.81336
1683Shane James50-17.491020.72638
172070Davin Cardwell50-20.804020.81533
18171Austin M Carr42-8 L020.70231
1915007Jacob Fields36-14 L020.68530
201449Joel Berkley19-31 L020.81028


iRacing World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model World Championship points through nine races are as follows:

  1. Hayden Cardwell, 587
  2. Dylan Wilson, 585
  3. Kendal Tucker, 563
  4. Devon Morgan, 559
  5. Evan Seay, 536
  6. Alex Bergeron, 475
  7. Zack McSwain, 471
  8. James Edens, 432
  9. JD Brown, 415
  10. Blake Cannon, 378

The iRacing World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model World Championship season wraps up next Monday at 9PM ET at The Dirt Track at Charlotte Motor Speedway. As always, the race will stream live on iRacing’s Facebook, Twitch, and YouTube channels. For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit