Casey Kirwan Survives Overtime, Returns to eNASCAR Victory Lane at Michigan

It took more than the scheduled 100 laps to settle the score, but Denny Hamlin Racing’s Casey Kirwan found his way to the winner’s circle for the first time since last season in Tuesday night’s eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series action from Michigan International Speedway. Taking advantage of an additional restart thanks to a caution that flew just before Alex McCollum took the white flag, Kirwan made DHR the first team to win with both of its drivers in the 2020 season.

Although an immediate incident ended the winning hopes of outside polesitter Malik Ray, Nick Ottinger, and Jeremy Allen just two laps into the race, and multiple crashes in the closing laps shuffled the running order dramatically, most of the race at Michigan was fairly clean. Drivers were challenged with mid-race green flag pit stops, and proper execution made all the difference, as the teams that stopped earlier in the mid-race pit window benefitted from having fresher tires more quickly.

The early caution made a one-stop strategy feasible, but when the race went to overtime after contact between Graham Bowlin and Phil Diaz, most of the field elected to take four tires for the two-lap shootout. Rookie Kollin Keister, who had run up front for much of the race, picked track position over fresh rubber, but couldn’t hold onto the point as McCollum and then Kirwan got past. Unfortunately for McCollum, a massive multi-car wreck triggered another caution just before he could cross the line to take the white flag, meaning he’d need to work a little harder for his first career win.

That extra restart was all that Kirwan needed. He got past McCollum for the top spot coming to the backstretch, leaving the G2 Esports driver to fight four-time series champion Ray Alfalla for the second position. Polesitter Chris Shearburn and Christian Challiner would complete the top five. Although the pack racing that dominated the night led to numerous drivers up front, Kirwan’s 23 laps led—matching his car number—was the highest count on the night.

eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series results from Michigan International Speedway were as follows:











1423Casey KirwanToyota1082338.33045
21454Alex McCollumChevrolet1084-0.09438.63240
3362Ray AlfallaChevrolet1088-0.11938.72339
4136Chris ShearburnChevrolet1084-0.19638.36238
51937Christian ChallinerChevrolet1080-0.25738.23836
61827Corey VincentFord1084-0.29038.27936
72455Caine CookFord10813-0.36838.23435
8983Bobby ZalenskiChevrolet1089-0.59238.13834
92199Logan ClampittToyota1084-0.64938.11233
10533Michael GuestChevrolet1086-0.67538.43832
11375Matt BussaFord1082-0.74938.09731
121788Brad DaviesChevrolet1080-0.75438.29429
13133Blake ReynoldsChevrolet1080-0.89238.36828
143314Brandon KettelleFord1080-0.94538.26127
15228Michael ContiChevrolet1080-1.00737.85826
16332Keegan LeahyToyota1080-1.50038.09625
173816Chris OverlandFord1080-1.59138.62424
181677Bob BryantToyota1080-1.67638.35923
192615Michael GuarigliaFord1080-1.75338.23222
201179Brian SchoenburgFord1080-1.85738.43821
213246Jimmy MullisToyota1080-1.88538.25420
22391Steve SheehanChevrolet1080-2.18038.57419
23349Eric J. SmithFord1080-2.18638.04618
242990Zack NovakToyota1080-2.24138.36117
253141Dylan DuvalFord1080-2.59838.41516
26234Santiago TirresChevrolet1080-3.48038.46115
272753Ryan LuzaFord1081-5.87538.34615
2866Nathan LyonFord1080-6.05138.40913
29818Graham A. BowlinToyota10810-11.05238.51613
30717Kollin KeisterFord1088-11.49538.52512
313524Jake NicholsFord1080-15.30838.43310
323010Justin BoltonFord1080-33.87538.7759
331566Jarl TeienChevrolet10611-2 L38.6079
342897John GorlinskyChevrolet1060-2 L38.6427
352021Garrett LoweFord1040-4 L38.5176
362575Phillip DiazFord1031-5 L38.4586
371225Nick OttingerChevrolet50-103 L42.8454
38251Malik RayToyota30-105 L3
391047Jeremy R AllenChevrolet30-105 L1:08.4802


eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series points after 11 rounds are as follows:

  1. Keegan Leahy, 352
  2. Ryan Luza, 338
  3. Bobby Zalenski, 337
  4. Michael Conti, 326
  5. Garrett Lowe, 325
  6. Ray Alfalla, 319
  7. Nick Ottinger, 287
  8. Chris Shearburn, 277
  9. Graham Bowlin, 277
  10. Logan Clampitt, 273

The eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series returns in two weeks’ time, moving its 12th round of the season to the Daytona International Speedway road course in reflection of the changes to the NASCAR Cup Series schedule. It’ll be the first of back-to-back races at Daytona, as the oval remains in its previously committed slot on the calendar later in the month as well. As always, eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series action can be seen line at 9PM ET/6PM PT on and For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit