James Edens Scores Third World of Outlaws Sprint Car Win of 2020 at Volusia

Swindell SpeedLab’s James Edens became the first three-time winner of the 2020 iRacing World of Outlaws NOS Energy Sprint Car World Championship season on Monday night, taking the checkered flag at Volusia Speedway Park over Slick Simsport’s Joel Berkley in a 35-lap dogfight for the top spot. It was the second win in three races for the California driver, who faced off with most of this year’s championship contenders on his way to take the checkered flag.

One of just two tracks to receive multiple dates on this year’s championship calendar, the complexion of the second Volusia race was nothing like that of this year’s season opener. Then, defending series champion Alex Bergeron dominated with the pole and wins in both qualifying and the feature; this time, Bergeron qualified fourth, and although he won his heat race, contact with David Heileman in the feature that led to the second of four cautions on the night dropped him towards the back of the pack.

Bergeron would recover to finish seventh, but that swung the door wide open for his championship rivals to keep within striking distance of the top spot. Braden Eyler and David Heileman finished third and fourth, allowing Heileman to hang on to second in points and Eyler to remain within six points of Edens for third. Kendal Tucker’s sixth place finish was good enough to keep him fifth in points, with a heavy cushion over Cameron Merriman after Merriman finished fourth in his last chance qualifier and missed the feature.

The heartbreak may have been most substantial, though, for Austen Semmelmann. The top qualifier, and one of four heat winners on the night alongside Edens, Bergeron, and Dylan Houser, Semmelmann never made it to grid for the main event to have the chance to join his brother Dillon as a series winner in 2020. The misfortune also dropped him out of the top 10 in the championship standings with just three races remaining.

Full results from iRacing World of Outlaws NOS Energy Sprint Car World Championship action at Volusia Speedway Park were as follows:










1352James Edens3535014.9678
259Joel Berkley350-0.53814.92974
3115Braden Eyler350-0.83414.97570
4749David Heileman350-0.96615.0568
51211Cole Neuhalfen350-1.05215.06264
62000Kendal Tucker350-1.18815.06658
7412Alex A Bergeron350-1.514.99360
814211Alex Smolders350-1.61415.0754
9881Dillon Semmelmann350-1.70915.1353
101325Tyler Ducharme350-1.86615.11948
111941Colton W Hardy350-2.11215.15545
121635Nick Cooper350-2.43515.11144
131771Cole V Cabre350-2.76815.13141
141015Zack Novak350-3.46715.03741
151854John Battista350-3.52215.137
161574Adam Elby350-3.65915.08136
17623Justin Thomas350-4.93315.06336
1822Dylan R. Houser300-5 L15.04135
1993Lewis Hewett50-30 L15.15331
20118Austen Semmelmann00-35 L8


iRacing World of Outlaws NOS Energy Sprint Car World Championship standings through seven rounds are as follows:

  1. Alex Bergeron, 449
  2. David Heileman, 427
  3. James Edens, 412
  4. Braden Eyler, 406
  5. Kendal Tucker, 391
  6. Cameron Merriman, 313
  7. Adam Elby, 294
  8. Cole Cabre, 293
  9. Dillon Semmelmann, 281
  10. Dylan Houser, 277

The iRacing World of Outlaws NOS Energy Sprint Car World Championship season continues next Monday with a visit to Eldora Speedway, before rounds at Williams Grove Speedway and The Dirt Track at Charlotte Motor Speedway close out the season. Real-world World of Outlaws stars and crossover athletes will return to the CBS Sports Network tonight at 8PM ET/5PM ET for the another edition of the eDirt Racing Shootout, also at Volusia Speedway Park. For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit www.iracing.com.