Ottinger Tames the Monster in eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series at Dover

Nick Ottinger scored his 15th career eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series victory, and the first points-paying win for William Byron eSports, on Tuesday night by dominating the action at Dover International Speedway. Ottinger led a race-high 105 of 200 laps, spoiling Ryan Luza’s bid to make history as the first driver to win four consecutive races in series history and maintaining a solid lead over Brad Davies coming to the finish.

Despite fears that a first-lap accident that sent Chris Shearburn sideways in Turns 1 and 2 would set the tone, Tuesday night was the cleanest Dover race in series history. Just two cautions for eight laps slowed the pace, giving drivers a chance to show their long-run speed and allowing green-flag pit stops and tire management to make the difference. A number of drivers had trouble with pit road, including incoming points leader Bobby Zalenski, who at one point missed the pit entry, lost a lap, and eventually finished 32nd.

That opened the door for Luza, who started third and took over the lead from polesitter Ray Alfalla on Lap 10. The Homestead, Bristol, and Richmond winner led 64 laps, but made contact with the wall in an unforced error and eventually came home fourth. Nonetheless, Luza’s strong run of results have enabled him to not only take over the points lead, but also the team championship lead for Williams Esports alongside teammate Matt Bussa.

In spite of the unique challenges of Dover, the Monster Mile proved friendly to a number of drivers who had been unlucky earlier in the season. Dylan Duval’s third place was his best run of 2020; ditto for Eric J. Smith in seventh, who also turned the race’s fastest lap. Veteran sim racers Bob Bryant and Steve Sheehan rounded out the top 10 after playing a role in some exciting late-race battles for position. In the end, 22 of the 37 starters finished the race on the lead lap, with fast drivers like Alfalla and Justin Bolton among the top drivers one lap down after encountering various issues during the race.

Full results from eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series action at Dover International Speedway were as follows:









Best Lap


1225Nick OttingerChevrolet20010521.59845
21088Brad DaviesChevrolet2000-2.69521.69439
31341Dylan DuvalFord2001-4.52821.66439
4353Ryan Michael LuzaFord20064-6.43521.60738
52932Keegan LeahyToyota2001-6.83921.70637
668Michael ContiChevrolet2000-7.31421.6135
759Eric J. SmithFord2000-8.03521.5834
82318Graham A. BowlinToyota2000-8.39521.77133
91542Bob BryantChevrolet2000-8.52421.67532
10171Steve SheehanChevrolet2000-8.72121.7431
11283Blake ReynoldsChevrolet2000-9.32621.68230
12937Christian ChallinerChevrolet2000-9.45421.78629
133666Jarl TeienChevrolet2004-11.60621.69929
142597John GorlinskyChevrolet2002-13.31921.82928
151951Malik RayToyota2000-14.78621.71226
16721Garrett LoweFord20010-15.05621.62426
173233Michael GuestChevrolet2000-16.01821.73924
181836Chris ShearburnChevrolet2000-16.08321.7623
19336Nathan LyonFord2000-16.27321.7522
20477Ashton CrowderToyota2000-17.76721.85621
211454Alex McCollumChevrolet2000-17.88521.69720
222675Phillip DiazFord2000-19.66221.78719
231610Justin BoltonFord1990-1 L21.90218
242124Jake NicholsFord1990-1 L21.73717
2512Ray AlfallaChevrolet1999-1 L21.63217
2685Matt BussaFord1990-1 L21.65515
272415Michael GuarigliaFord1990-1 L21.8714
283590Zack NovakToyota1992-1 L21.73214
291299Logan ClampittToyota1980-2 L21.61812
303716Chris OverlandFord1970-3 L21.711
31344Santiago TirresChevrolet1970-3 L21.72110
323083Bobby ZalenskiChevrolet1972-3 L21.60710
331127Corey VincentFord1970-3 L21.9278
342079Brian SchoenburgFord1970-3 L21.9727
352223Casey KirwanToyota1820-18 L22.0846
362746Jimmy MullisToyota1720-28 L21.7725
373155Caine CookFord90-191 L21.9664


The eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series season continues on May 12 at Charlotte Motor Speedway. The race can be streamed live at 9PM ET/6PM PT on and The eNASCAR iRacing Pro Invitational Series resumes on Sunday at 1PM ET on FOX and FS1 as real-world NASCAR Cup Series drivers take on Dover. For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit