Bergeron Extends Points Lead With World of Outlaws Sprint Car Win at Lernerville

Team ABR’s Alex Bergeron capitalized on a mistake from Slick Simsport’s Tyler Ducharme to score the win in iRacing World of Outlaws NOS Energy Sprint Car World Championship action from Lernerville Speedway on Monday night. The win, combined with technical issues for previous Lernerville winner and top incoming challenger James Edens, allowed Bergeron to extend his points lead in hopes of winning a second straight championship this season.

Bergeron, Ducharme, David Heileman, and Tyler Schell scored the heat victories from Lernerville, setting up an interesting mix of title contenders and fresh faces at the front of the pack for the main event. Bergeron struck out to an early lead, but after an early spin for Dillon Semmelmann caused a caution, Ducharme seized the opportunity, throwing sliders in Turns 3 and 4 until he was able to establish the high line and make the pass stick on Lap 13.

But running the cushion and throwing sliders comes with an added risk at Lernerville, as the lack of an outside retaining wall around most of the track puts drivers at risk of clearing the outside line entirely. On Lap 19, Ducharme’s luck at the top of the track finally ran out; he slid off track in Turn 2, losing the lead and momentum as he dropped to the edge of the top 10. He would later recover to fifth.

Schell would capitalize by jumping to second, while Britton Roxberry clawed his way up from 10th to claim the final spot on the podium. Only Semmelmann, who went a lap down with his spin, Edens, and Alex Smolders, who flew off of the track on Lap 3 and landed on his side, would fail to complete all 35 laps.

Full results from iRacing World of Outlaws NOS Energy Sprint Car World Championship action at Lernerville Speedway were as follows:










1112Alex A Bergeron3524013.68778
2485Tyler Schell350-0.52313.77575
310421Britton Roxberry350-0.60313.87570
4718Austen Semmelmann350-1.71313.82768
5225Tyler Ducharme359-1.87813.7566
6349David Heileman350-1.88713.83163
71971Cole V Cabre350-2.27713.94456
8115Braden Eyler350-2.86513.57755
9600Kendal Tucker352-3.2313.9553
10162Dylan R. Houser350-3.58613.88748
111717Cameron Merriman350-3.63113.8845
121441Colton W Hardy350-4.11113.82244
131511Cole Neuhalfen350-4.36414.03542
141835Nick Cooper350-5.57114.18938
15124James Tiernan350-7.01813.72739
16924Shaun Timmerman350-7.08113.82737
17133Lewis Hewett350-8.20313.97134
182081Dillon Semmelmann340-1 L13.68831
19552James Edens220-13 L13.94132
208211Alex Smolders20-33 L30


iRacing World of Outlaws NOS Energy Sprint Car World Championship standings through six rounds are as follows:

  1. Alex Bergeron, 389
  2. David Heileman, 359
  3. Braden Eyler, 336
  4. James Edens, 334
  5. Kendal Tucker, 333
  6. Cameron Merriman, 312
  7. Adam Elby, 258
  8. Cole Cabre, 252
  9. Dylan Houser, 242
  10. Ausen Semmelmann, 237

The iRacing World of Outlaws NOS Energy Sprint Car World Championship season continues next Monday with a return to Kokomo Speedway, where brothers Chase and Cole Cabre scored a 1-2 finish in 2019. As always, the race will stream live on the iRacing eSports Network at 9PM ET/6PM PT. In the meantime, real-world World of Outlaws stars and crossover athletes will make their debut on the CBS Sports Network tonight at 8PM ET/5PM ET for the inaugural eDirt Racing Shootout. For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit