William Byron Takes eNASCAR iRacing Pro Invitiational Series Win at Bristol

After leading huge portions of the first two eNASCAR iRacing Pro Invitational Series races, William Byron finally took the checkered flag with a win in Sunday’s Food City Showdown from Bristol Motor Speedway. The driver of the #24 Axalta Chevrolet had a nearly perfect day, qualifying first, winning his hear race, and leading much of the 150-lap main event to avenge last week’s loss to Timmy Hill in Texas.

A new race format saw the series take on Bristol with an invite-only list of 32 current and former NASCAR Cup Series drivers, with drivers from other NASCAR and ARCA series competing instead in their own race on Saturday night. A pair of 50-lap heat races set the grid for the feature race, and while Byron was relatively unchallenged in the first, John Hunter Nemechek just barely nipped Ryan Preece at the finish of the second.

From there, chaos was the rule of the day, as the half-mile Bristol bullring made things difficult for many real-world pros who are still adapting to iRacing. 12 cautions, including one within the final 10 laps of the race, slowed the field, and few drivers didn’t use one (or both) of their resets. However, in spite of the turbulent on-track action, 22 drivers managed to complete all 150 laps.

Alternating pit strategies shuffled the field, enabling Chris Buescher and Landon Cassill to spend time at the front of the pack, but Byron was the class of the field with a dominant 116 laps at the front of the pack. Nemechek shuffled back to second place, while Texas winner Timmy Hill, Homestead winner Denny Hamlin, and Matt DiBenedetto completed the top five.

Food City Showdown Results

Full results from the eNASCAR iRacing Pro Invitational Series Food City Showdown at Bristol Motor Speedway were as follows:











1124William ByronChevrolet150116Running14.848
2238John H. NemechekFord150-1.3720Running14.824
31066Timmy HillToyota150-1.4050Running14.858
42611Denny HamlinToyota150-1.4360Running14.895
52121Matt DiBenedettoFord150-1.7730Running14.929
6437Ryan PreeceChevrolet150-1.9780Running14.896
71177Parker KligermanToyota150-2.4210Running14.849
81331Tyler ReddickChevrolet150-2.9940Running14.905
91451Garrett SmithleyChevrolet150-3.2190Running14.886
10934Michael McDowellFord150-3.3830Running14.901
113214Clint BowyerFord150-3.8320Running14.903
12395Christopher BellToyota150-4.1350Running14.886
133019Bobby LabonteToyota150-4.3080Running14.941
14788Alex BowmanChevrolet150-4.3960Running14.881
15243Austin DillonChevrolet150-4.5050Running14.945
16206Ross ChastainFord150-5.4210Running14.872
171522Joey LoganoFord150-5.5540Running15.033
18618Kyle BuschToyota150-5.6610Running14.819
19171Kurt BuschChevrolet150-7.8340Running15.004
201289Landon CassillChevrolet150-9.1764Running14.913
212548Jimmie JohnsonChevrolet150-11.9830Running14.910
2258Dale Earnhardt Jr.Chevrolet150-12.8100Running14.845
232817Chris BuescherFord146-4 laps30Running14.962
24222Brad KeselowskiFord141-9 laps0Running14.963
251813Ty DillonChevrolet132-18 laps0Running15.007
261912Ryan BlaneyFord126-24 laps0Running14.910
272396Daniel SuarezToyota72-78 laps0Disconnected14.971
282947Ricky Stenhouse Jr.Chevrolet72-78 laps0Disconnected15.166
29842Kyle LarsonChevrolet71-79 laps0Disqualified14.954
30279Chase ElliottChevrolet31-119 laps0Disconnected15.129
313120Erik JonesToyota14-136 laps0Disconnected30.457
321643Bubba WallaceChevrolet9-141 laps0Disconnected15.363


Keep up with the eNASCAR iRacing Pro Invitational Series, eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series, and more at enascar.com. For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit www.iracing.com.