Scott McLaughlin Scores First IndyCar iRacing Challenge Win at Barber

Team Penske’s Scott McLaughlin played his race strategy perfectly to take the checkered flag in the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama, the second round of the six-race IndyCar iRacing Challenge from Barber Motorsports Park on Saturday. After pitting before anyone else, McLaughlin took the top spot after the rest of the field pit at the competition caution and led a large portion of the race before taking the checkered flag over Team Penske teammate Will Power.

An extra week of practice for returning drivers, a handful of newcomers, and the Lap 15 yellow flag completely changed the complexion of this weekend’s race compared to the season opener from Watkins Glen International. Initially, polesitter Sage Karam looked to make it two for two with Dreyer & Reinbold Racing, but he struggled with lapped traffic, made contact with fellow front runner Felix Rosenqvist on Lap 27, and eventually suffered too much damage to continue.

McLaughlin, meanwhile, gambled as the first driver to pit in the early stages of the race. After making his second pit stop, he regained the lead from Andretti Autosport’s Scott Speed in the closing laps of the race. With just a few laps left, McLaughlin had to deal with the pressure of both Power in his mirrors and a number of lapped cars—including five-time IndyCar champion and fellow Kiwi Scott Dixon—to score the checkered flag.

Compared to last week, when seven drivers finished on the lead lap, the count doubled to 14 at race’s end from Barber. Those lead-lap finishers included Robert Wickens, who made his triumphant return to IndyCar and ran in the top five for Arrow McLaren SP before settling in for eighth, and Jimmie Johnson, who came home 12th in his second start.

Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama Results

Full results from Saturday’s IndyCar iRacing Challenge event at Barber Motorsports Park are as follows:











182Scott T McLaughlinTeam PenskeChevrolet45121:06.992
2212Will PowerTeam PenskeChevrolet450-0.4181:06.867
3698Scott SpeedAndretti AutosportHonda458-13.931:07.488
4455Alex PalouDale Coyne Racing with Team GohHonda450-14.3641:07.066
5522Simon PagenaudTeam PenskeChevrolet450-14.6261:07.054
6310Felix RosenqvistChip Ganassi RacingChevrolet451-14.6911:06.721
71288Colton HertaAndretti Harding Steinbrenner AutosportHonda450-23.7441:07.446
8296Robert WickensArrow McLaren SPChevrolet450-45.8311:08.176
971Josef NewgardenTeam PenskeChevrolet450-48.4681:06.755
102418Santino FerrucciDale Coyne Racing with Vasser SullivanHonda450-55.0041:08.207
112041Dalton KellettAJ Foyt EnterprisesChevrolet450-55.7791:08.051
122248Jimmie JohnsonJimmie Johnson RacingChevrolet450-1:00.4841:08.016
13284Sebastien BourdaisAJ Foyt EnterprisesChevrolet450-1:02.2941:07.780
141015Graham RahalRahal Letterman Lanigan RacingHonda450-1:05.9281:07.335
1597Oliver AskewArrow McLaren SPChevrolet440-1 L1:07.324
16169Scott R DixonChip Ganassi RacingChevrolet440-1 L1:07.810
171929James HinchcliffeAndretti AutosportHonda440-1 L1:08.088
182721Ed CarpenterEd Carpenter RacingChevrolet440-1 L1:08.815
192326Zach VeachAndretti AutosportHonda440-1 L1:07.866
201528Kyle KirkwoodAndretti AutosportHonda440-1 L1:07.978
212111Kyle KaiserJuncos RacingChevrolet440-1 L1:08.294
221327Alexander RossiAndretti AutosportHonda430-2 L1:08.031
232620Conor DalyEd Carpenter RacingChevrolet430-2 L1:08.828
24175Patricio OWardArrow McLaren SPChevrolet380-7 L1:07.765
25148Marcus EricssonChip Ganassi RacingChevrolet310-14 L1:07.568
262514Tony KanaanAJ Foyt EnterprisesChevrolet290-16 L1:08.843
27124Sage KaramDreyer & Reinbold RacingChevrolet2924-16 L1:06.841
281860Jack HarveyMeyer Shank RacingHonda270-18 L1:09.380
291159Felipe NasrCarlinChevrolet180-27 L1:09.228


The IndyCar iRacing Challenge resumes on Saturday, April 11 from Michigan International Speedway, the driver’s choice track and the first oval on the schedule. Once again, the event can be seen live on NBCSN. For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit