eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series Preview: Homestead

TUNE IN // TUESDAY, 9PM ET // eNASCAR.com/live

The world has changed dramatically in the three weeks since the eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series last competed at Auto Club Speedway. With real-world NASCAR racing on pause through at least May 3 as a means of dealing with the global spread of coronavirus, the 40 top names in stock car sim racing just might be dealing with a much bigger audience tonight when they take to Homestead-Miami Speedway for the third race of their 2020 season.

The good news? If tonight’s race is anything like last year’s season finale from Homestead, the fans are in for a treat. Last year, with the lion’s share of a $100,000 purse on the line, Championship 4 drivers Zack Novak and Keegan Leahy battled hard—but clean—in a drag race to the finish line. In the end, it was Novak who took the checkered flag and the title, but Leahy struck back to open this season with a win at Daytona International Speedway. Both will be looked at as favorites in tonight’s event.

A lot of extra eyes will also be on Ashton Crowder, who enters tonight as the points leader after scoring the victory at Auto Club last month. The Burton Kligerman eSports driver now has wins in two consecutive seasons, and led 16 laps on the way to his second career eNCIS win. To do it, he outdueled 2019 playoff driver Garrett Lowe, who came within .128 seconds of giving Wood Brothers Racing its long-awaited first win in the series.

But if you’re looking for a veteran presence to run up front at Homestead, look no further than past series champions Ray Alfalla and Ryan Luza. Alfalla, a Florida native, clinched his fourth title here with a win in 2018, and boasts two wins and four top-five finishes here in the past six years. Luza won here in 2017 as a rookie to clinch his first series title, and backed it up with finishes of second in 2018 and fifth last year.

Incoming eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series points before tonight’s race at Homestead-Miami Speedway are as follows:

  1. Ashton Crowder, 78 (1 win)
  2. Bobby Zalenski, 78
  3. John Gorlinsky, 71
  4. Keegan Leahy, 65 (1 win)
  5. Ray Alfalla, 65
  6. Nick Ottinger, 62
  7. Brad Davies, 57
  8. Jimmy Mullis, 57
  9. Garrett Lowe, 56
  10. Casey Kirwan, 54

eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series action from Homestead-Miami Speedway will stream live on Tuesday at 9PM ET/6PM PT. Be sure to tune in at eNASCAR.com/live, or head to Facebook, Twitch, or YouTube to watch it all go down!