VRS Coanda Simsport Wins Biggest iRacing Daytona 24 Ever

VRS Coanda Simsport

The VRS Coanda Simsport quartet of Tommy Ostgaard, Josh Rogers, Martin Kronke, and Mitchell deJong proved victorious in the top split of this year’s iRacing 24 Hours of Daytona. The #8 Chevrolet Corvette C7 Daytona Prototype completed 834 laps of the iconic Daytona International Speedway road course, defeating Gresham Wagner, Braden Eves, and Andre Castro of SuperSport Racing by three laps in the virtual version of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship opener.

The Apex Racing Team entry of Peter Berryman, Kevin Ellis Jr., Michele Costantini, and Yohann Harth completed the overall podium in the top split. In GTE, the Team Redline entry of Max Benecke, Max Wenig, Jonas Wallmeier, and Gianni Vecchio scored a one-lap victory over Sebastian Job, Graham Carroll, and Patrik Holzmann of Red Bull Racing Esports. Top GT3 honors went to RS Competition’s two-man team of Lasse Bak and Martin Christensen.

The 2020 iRacing 24 Hours of Daytona was the largest in iRacing history. It saw 6,290 combined drivers complete over a million laps across 31 splits in the two event start times. As always, professional racers were a big part of the event, with former real-world Daytona 24 winner AJ Allmendinger among the headliners in the first segment, and Supercars champion Scott McLaughlin and NASCAR Cup Series veteran Parker Kligerman in the broadcasted split in the second segment. Allmendinger’s team finished second in GTE in its split, while McLaughlin and Kligerman finished fifth and 11th in GTE, respectively, in the broadcast split.

Racing for Charity

Many iRacers used the event as a way of raising money for charitable causes. Teammates Ian Plasch and Keenan Kusan raised over $4,300 USD for children’s hospitals through Extra-Life with solo runs, with Plasch’s 824 solo laps setting a new event record. Rence Brown also ran 787 solo laps in GT3 while raising money for Australia Zoo Wildlife Warriors, while David Schildhouse raised more than $2,100 AUD for World Wildlife Fund Australia.

Among the thousands of teams entered in this year’s event was the return of an iRacing staff team. Team Staff Infection 2.0 featured driving appearances from Kevin Bobbitt, Greg West, Alex Horn, Nick Leep, Alex Saunders, and Nate DeSelms, and finished 37th after an overnight incident.

Our broadcast partner, Racespot, broadcast the entire race and the replay can be found here.

Top split results from the 2020 iRacing 24 Hours of Daytona are as follows:











118VRS Coanda Simsport $8Chevrolet Corvette C7DP87208641:35.580
2620SuperSport RacingChevrolet Corvette C7DP869-3 L11:36.599
3791Apex Racing TeamChevrolet Corvette C7DP868-4 L01:36.704
4993Drivex eSportsChevrolet Corvette C7DP868-4 L01:36.642
51048Torque Freak Racing SunsetChevrolet Corvette C7DP868-4 L01:36.804
646Team Redline DP IIChevrolet Corvette C7DP868-4 L31:36.405
713117Team RSO #117Chevrolet Corvette C7DP866-6 L01:36.949
81514SimuCUBE ineX Racing DPChevrolet Corvette C7DP866-6 L01:36.851
9218VRS Coanda Simsport $18Chevrolet Corvette C7DP865-7 L01:35.979
10147DRS Wave Italy DPChevrolet Corvette C7DP862-10 L01:36.905
11388VRS Coanda Simsport $88Chevrolet Corvette C7DP859-13 L01:36.737
121158Radicals Online JRTChevrolet Corvette C7DP858-14 L01:36.930
131878CTC Racing RedChevrolet Corvette C7DP853-19 L01:37.778
141779CTC Racing BlackChevrolet Corvette C7DP842-30 L01:37.566
152071Team Redline GTBMW M8 GTEGTE838-34 L01:40.333
16212Red Bull Racing EsportsBMW M8 GTEGTE837-35 L01:40.296
173676SimRC.de TitanBMW M8 GTEGTE836-36 L01:40.510
18331Williams Jim Esports Solari #88BMW M8 GTEGTE835-37 L01:40.360
192526Evolution Racing Team #26BMW M8 GTEGTE835-37 L01:40.690
202275MSI eSports GTEBMW M8 GTEGTE835-37 L01:40.333
2128211Triple A Esports BlackBMW M8 GTEGTE835-37 L01:40.423
2232451Biela Racing Team EURONICS GTEBMW M8 GTEGTE832-40 L01:40.580
232412Williams Esports RazerBMW M8 GTEGTE832-40 L01:40.426
24314Jean Alesi Esports Academy GTEBMW M8 GTEGTE830-42 L01:40.810
253444Burton Kligerman EsportsPorsche 911 RSRGTE830-42 L01:40.683
2630777Tertre Rouge RacingFerrari 488 GTEGTE829-43 L01:40.511
272935Team Heusinkveld #35BMW M8 GTEGTE828-44 L01:40.775
282343Logitech G Altus EsportsBMW M8 GTEGTE828-44 L01:40.050
294155RS CompetitionMercedes AMG GT3GT3820-52 L01:41.930
303773Pure Racing Team GT3Audi R8 LMSGT3818-54 L01:42.134
314717SIMMSA Esports GT3Mercedes AMG GT3GT3818-54 L01:42.418
325024CoRe SimRacing #24Mercedes AMG GT3GT3817-55 L01:42.242
3352321S2V EsportsMercedes AMG GT3GT3817-55 L01:42.407
344537Evolution Simsport – RaptorMercedes AMG GT3GT3817-55 L01:42.443
3542334Mivano Simracing YellowMercedes AMG GT3GT3816-56 L01:42.352
364010DRS Wave Italy AMGMercedes AMG GT3GT3815-57 L01:42.276
37489MB Esport RacingMercedes AMG GT3GT3814-58 L01:42.249
385421RevMatch Esports UGX GT3Mercedes AMG GT3GT3814-58 L01:42.173
395115Viva el PaPo Racing TeamMercedes AMG GT3GT3814-58 L01:42.356
405319Radicals Online SimmortalMercedes AMG GT3GT3811-61 L01:42.640
4149333Mivano Simracing RedMercedes AMG GT3GT3673-199 L01:42.600
42193Williams Esports ChillblastBMW M8 GTEGTE623-249 L01:40.269
432716Prologue React E-Sport PinkBMW M8 GTEGTE536-336 L01:40.578
44533Team Redline DP IChevrolet Corvette C7DP467-405 L31:36.822
454313Prologue React E-Sport BlueMercedes AMG GT3GT3399-473 L01:42.366
46823SIMMSA Esports DPChevrolet Corvette C7DP333-539 L11:37.038
471611UI1-POSITIVE SIMRACING DPChevrolet Corvette C7DP330-542 L01:37.299
484423CoRe SimRacing #23Mercedes AMG GT3GT3318-554 L01:42.665
49351DV1 TRITON RacingBMW M8 GTEGTE286-586 L01:41.246
504696Burst Esport GT3Audi R8 LMSGT3147-725 L01:42.665
5126212Triple A Esports WhiteBMW M8 GTEGTE97-775 L01:41.043
5212450Biela Racing Team EURONICS DPChevrolet Corvette C7DP54-818 L01:37.180
535583ASTRO Gaming Altus EsportsMercedes AMG GT3GT30-872 L0
54395Team Redline GT3Audi R8 LMSGT30-872 L0
553852Vendaval Simracing PinkMercedes AMG GT3GT30-872 L0


The 2020 iRacing special event schedule continues on February 7-9 with the iRacing Bathurst 12 Hour from Mount Panorama Circuit, with GT3 cars duking it out. Multi-class action between the DP, GTE, and GT3 classes will return on March 13-15 with the iRacing 12 Hours of Sebring.